VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Evidence-Based Medicine Clinical Curriculum

Get Help

John Cyrus's picture
John Cyrus
Contact:
(804) 828-1881

Apps and Websites

Calculators:

Websites:

  • Medscape - Online reference for health care professionals and patients.
  • MedlinePlus - NIH curated information on conditions, diseases, drugs, supplements, and other health-related topics.

Access Series

The Access series includes online access to essential textbooks, drug information, multimedia, and other resources. Web only.

Quick Answers

UpToDate:

  • Provides reviewed clinical reference material including drug information, dosing, and brief summaries of conditions and management options. Available off campus with personal account registered while on campus.
  • App for iOS and Android devices (register account on campus for access to the app)

ClinicalKey:

  • Clinical reference tool that includes textbooks, full-text journals, FirstConsult, procedural videos, drug information, and practice guidelines.
  • App for iOS and Android devices

Visual Dx:

  • A diagnosis tool based on dermatological signs. It is available on desktops, phones, and tablets.
  • App for iOS and Android devices (register via web-based version to create the username and password)

Natural Medicines:

  • Evidence-based, peer-reviewed information on complementary and alternative medicine treatments. Includes evaluation of therapies for specific conditions, herbs and supplements, and diet therapies.

Summaries

Clinical Guidelines:

  • National Guidelines Clearinghouse - Clinical practice guidelines that are based on a systematic review of evidence, freely available, and have been published or updated within the past five (5) years. Search guidelines / guideline syntheses or sort by specialty or authoring organization
  • ClinicalKey Guidelines - Clinical guidelines from journals found in ClinicalKey, the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence as well as summaries from National Guideline Clearinghouse. Search or sort by specialty or authoring organization

Evidence-Based Texts:

  • FirstConsult via ClinicalKey - select FirstConsult from the dropdown menu next to the search box

Syntheses

  • Cochrane LibraryA database of systematic reviews on health care topics. Also includes a hand-picked registry of controlled trials.
  • AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice Center Reports - Searchable collection of evidence reports, comparativeness effectiveness reviews, and technology assessments conducted by Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-Based Practice Centers.

Synopses of Single Studies

  • ACP Journal ClubA monthly publication that selects, summarizes, and appraises several articles judged to have a high clinical impact. Accessed through the American College of Physicians or EBSCO Publishing.
  • Evidence-Based Medicine (BMJ) - Critical reviews of current research.
  • OrthoEvidence - Orthopaedic-only pre-appraised evidence summaries.

Single Studies