The Biomedical Informatics Core catalyzes clinical and translational research within VCU and its partners by providing technical infrastructure, data, policies and informatics expertise to practitioners and health science researchers.
BTRIS provides clinical investigators with access to identifiable data for subjects on their own active protocols, while providing all NIH investigators with access to data without personal identifiers across all protocols.
ConsensusPathDB-human integrates interaction networks in Homo sapiens including binary and complex protein-protein, genetic, metabolic, signaling, gene regulatory and drug-target interactions, as well as biochemical pathways.
EMBL-EBI provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology and offers an extensive user training programme, supporting researchers in academia and industry.
This includes a number of resources including the European Genome-phenome Archive (EGA) that has datasets from genomic studies, and the Database of Genomic Variants Online (European Variation Archive) which is a database of genetic variation. It also contains the Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI) which provides a list of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds. It also houses the IntAct database for molecular interaction data, as well as Uniprot for protein sequence and structure.
They also have the Patient/Community-Centered Outcomes (PC-COC) which assists Massey investigators in incorporating patient/community-centered outcomes via state-of-the-art qualitative, quantitative and multi-method research protocols. As well as the Microscopy Facility which provides researchers with the equipment and expertise required to examine subcellular details at high resolution by both light and electron microscopy and to perform quantitative image analysis. The ten cores are detailed below.
-Cancer Research Informatics and Services Core (CRIS) automates personnel-intensive manual methods for data acquisition, integration and processing.
-Clinical Research Shared Resource Core provides central management and oversight of the coordination, facilitation and reporting of VCU Massey Cancer --------Center's clinical trials, and supports quality assurance mechanisms.
-Transgenic Mouse Core provides a comprehensive suite of services for the creation of genetically modified mice.
-Tissue and Data Acquisition and Analysis Core is a resource designed to provide high-quality controlled human tissue samples to VCU investigators as well as provide customized services to assist them in all tissue collection, consenting and processing needs.
-Genomics Shared Resource Core makes available to VCU researchers the cutting-edge tools necessary for modern genomic analysis with a primary focus on Next---------Generation (NextGen) DNA sequencing and analysis capabilities.
-Flow Cytometry Shared Resource Core provides a wide range of services related to cell sorting and analysis.
-Lipidomics is a key focal point for development of a sustainable critical mass of expertise in lipid signaling and state of the art analytical techniques.
-Molecular Imaging developing shared resource core helps Massey investigators to translate pre-clinical concepts in detection and targeted therapy of cancer into animal model systems and, ultimately, into early phase clinical trials.
-Biological Macromolecule Shared Resource Core provides investigators at the VCU Massey Cancer Center with the means for producing biological macromolecules intended for various endpoints.
-Biostatistics Shared Resource Core provides biostatistical support and collaboration to investigators the VCU Massey Cancer Center.
NCBI provides a number of resources. Such as AceView which provides a curated, comprehensive and non-redundant sequence representation of all public mRNA sequences, as well as ClinVar which collects submissions from clinical testing labs, researchers, locus-specific databases, expert panels, and professional societies. Others include dbVar and dbSNP which are databases of genomic and SNP structural variation that allows users to search, view, and download structural variation data from submitted studies on several species. There is also GeneBank which is a collection of annotated genetic sequences, and Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) which is a public functional genomics data repository. It also includes HapMap which helps researchers find genes associated with human disease and PubChem which is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays.