Drugs and Alcohol: Open Access to Research

A core biomedical database for locating drugs/ alcohol literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Not all content is freely available but many citations include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Click "more..." for search examples

A short video on how to access articles that are freely available

Tips for more advanced PubMed searches from the U.S. National Library of Medicine

This explains how these PMC repositories differ. Also note that each provides somewhat different search options and other tools, so it is a good idea to become familiar with each.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Europe PMC is a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, and clinical guidelines.

CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. Searches can be limited by language, and to specific journals, publishers, or repositories. Includes links to "Similar Articles"

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

African-published research papers have been under-utilised, under-valued and under-cited in the international and African research arenas. AJOL's Mission: to increase online visibility, access and use of African-published research output in support of quality African research and higher education.

BanglaJOL is a service to provide access to Bangladesh published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship.

Bioline International is a not-for-profit digital platform for peer-reveiwed, open access journals published in developing countries to improve visibility of quality research and reduce the South to North knowledge gap. These efforts are crucial to a global understanding of health, biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development.

LAMJOL hosts journals from Nicaragua and Honduras and is primarily in Spanish, but does feature some English abstracts and tables of contents. LAMJOL was launched in 2010

Comprehensive index of scientific/ public health literature - includes controlled clinical trials, systematic reviews, etc. Spanish, Portuguese, some English.

Scientific Electronic Library Online for Latin America & Caribbean. Spanish, Portuguese, English; searches can be limited to specific regions (Argentina, Cuba, Venezuela, etc.) or fields (Public Health; Social Sciences).

Scientific Electronic Library Online for South Africa is an open-access (free to access and free to publish) searchable full-text journal database in service of the South African research community.