VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Pharmacy Experiential Education

We hope this guide will make your time on rotations a little easier by providing quick access to VCU Libraries resources. If you get stuck, call or email us!

Practice Guidelines

Drug Information

Electronic Textbooks

AccessMedicine

  • Collection of over 60 medical textbooks from McGraw-Hill, case files, diagnostic tools, self-assessment questions and patient handouts.  Textbooks include Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, and Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics.  [NOTE:  Only 5 users at a time can use AccessMedicine]

AccessPharmacy

  • More than 30 core pharmacy electronic textbooks, drug monographs, calculators, herb& supplement information, and care plans.  Includes Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
  • If you have an My AccessPharmacy account, use the mobile version by going to http://m.accesspharmacy.com

AccessPediatrics

  • Collection of pediatric and neonatology textbooks, such as Rudolph's Pediatrics.  Includes patient education, multimedia, and drug monographs with dosing information for children, neonates, and adults.  [Only 5 users at a time can use AccessPediatrics]

ClinicalKey

  • Clinical reference resource with over 1100 medical ebooks, 600+ full-text journals from Elsevier, FirstConsult point-of-care monographs, procedural videos, drug monographs, practice guidelines, patient education handouts and more.

STAT!Ref Electronic Medical Library

  • Full-text cross-searchable reference books for the health professional. Includes AHFS Drug Information® and DrugPoints® System.
  • Only 5 concurrent users of each resource.
  • On a mobile device, use the mobile-enabled version of STAT!Ref or download the STAT!Ref app (available for iPhone/iPod, Android devices, and Blackberries)

Article Searching

PubMed

  • If you're in front of a computer use the link above to ensure you're accessing PubMed through the VCU Libraries.
  • If you're using a mobile device, use PubMed for Handhelds

Web of Science

  • Citation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text 

  • Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.  
  • If you're using a mobile device, use the mobile-enabled version

If You Get Stuck

If you get lost using one of the resources, please contact: