Welcome!
Welcome to the BIOZ 310 Genetics Course Guide. This Guide will provide links to the resources we showed you when your had your Library lab, plus some other useful bioscience and geneticss resources. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need help.
Ask Us!
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Other ways to get in touch
Call: 1-866-VCU-BOOK
E-mail: Ask Us
More contact information
Best Bets
- PubMed/MEDLINE PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for the biomedical literature and links to DNA and protein data at NCBI.
- RefWorksCitation management tool for storing and managing references; creating bibliographies. Supports most citation styles. Requires an individual account set up from a VCU Libraries link. Available to VCU and MCVH-VCU email account holders.
- Gene Reviews and Gene TestsGeneReviews are expert-authored, peer-reviewed, current disease descriptions that apply genetic testing to the diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling of patients and families with specific inherited conditions. GeneTests lists clinical testing services.
- NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology InformationThe NCBI advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. A major repository of DNA and protein information as well as programs to search and compare sequences.
More Resources
- RefWorksCitation management tool for storing and managing references; creating bibliographies. Supports most citation styles. Requires an individual account set up from a VCU Libraries link. Available to VCU and MCVH-VCU email account holders.
- Genetics Home ReferenceNational Library of Medicine's Web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions.
- Gene Reviews and Gene TestsGeneReviews are expert-authored, peer-reviewed, current disease descriptions that apply genetic testing to the diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling of patients and families with specific inherited conditions. GeneTests lists clinical testing services.
- OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)Database cataloging human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the Web by NCBI. The database contains textual information and references.
- PubMed/MEDLINE The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
- Web of Science Citation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.
- GeneEntrez Gene supplies gene-specific connections in the nexus of map, sequence, expression, structure, function, citation, and homology data. Unique identifiers are assigned to genes with defining sequences, genes with known map positions, and genes inferred from phenotypic information.
- NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology InformationThe NCBI advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. A major repository of DNA and protein information as well as programs to search and compare sequences.
- Current Protocols in Molecular BiologyPublished methods and procedures for research in molecular biology. Includes materials lists, tables, illustrations, commentaries and step-by-step protocols.
- Current Protocols in BioinformaticsOnline manual and instructions for research biologists working with bioinformatics applications and databases.
- Springer Protocols Access to over 20,000 life sciences and biomedical protocols, many from the classic series "Methods in Molecular Biology."
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Science and Engineering Research Librarian

Julie Arendt
Research Librarian for the Sciences and Engineering
804-828-1539
Send an email
Profile & Guides
Please Evaluate the Class
Please help us improve this class for future sessions by filling out a quick survey. Thank you.



Loading...
