VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Book Art

Where is the collection?

Special Collections & Archives

Location: 4th floor, Cabell Library

Hours: Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm

Phone:  (804) 828-1108

Food and drink are not permitted.

Schedule a Class Visit

Please contact Leila Prasertwaitaya, Library Specialist for the Arts, at least one week in advance of the class to schedule a session. Email prasertwaitl@vcu.edu or call (804) 827-3573.

Suggest a Book for the Collection

For purchase suggestions, please contact Yuki Hibben, Assistant Head of Special Collections and Archives at ydhibben@vcu.edu or (804) 828-8837.

Ask Us

Welcome!

This guide provides an overview of how to locate and use items in the VCU Book Art Collection.

VCU Libraries' Book Art Collection

The VCU Book Art Collection includes over 4,000 items and is housed in Special Collections and Archives at James Branch Cabell Library. The collection is international in scope and is strongest in publications from the 1960s to the present. It encompasses all aspects of contemporary book art publications ranging from photobooks to three-dimensional book works. Seminal works such as Edward Ruscha's Every Building on the Sunset Strip, Dieter Roth's 246 Little Clouds, and Barbara Kruger's No Progress in Pleasure are featured in the collection. In addition to artists' books, the collection includes serials, exhibition catalogs, and reference materials. A selection of concrete, sound, and visual poetry is also housed within the collection. Special Collections and Archives is also a repository for the Women's Studio Workshop, the largest publisher of hand printed and hand bound artists' books in the United States.

Examples from the Book Art Collection

Crazy Carousel Book (2008) by Bettina Pauley, Book Art 1 - 1997

Apples & Eggs, Salt & Pepper (1999) by Lawrence Weiner, Book Art 2 - 814

 

Maxims by the Yard: Some in Meter (2003) by Angela Lorenz, Book Art 3 - 347

 

Invented Landscape (2010) by Julie Chen, Book Art 4 - 147

If you are an artist holding copyright on any of these works and you object to having your work represented on this site, please notify us immediately. Our intention is purely educational, but we will promptly remove any images you do not wish to be included.