Research Guides: Dentistry: Literature Databases & Information Resources

Literature Databases & Information Resources

PubMed/MEDLINE
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.

Embase
Biomedicine and pharmacology citation database (1974 - present) with an international scope. Recommended for use in systematic reviews and for finding drug and medical device information
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database that is a good place to search for basic science journal articles. Includes citations for conference proceedings as well.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source (DOSS)
Includes abstracts from 160 dental journals, 30 books, and IADR/AADR Meeting Abstracts.
CINAHL Complete
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 1300 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
more...less...
(1937 - present) VCU access only
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database
The TRIP Database performs a simple search in more than 60 databases related to evidence-based resources, allowing rapid identification of the highest quality clinical evidence. You can easily restrict your search to a given level of evidence in the hierarchy.
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate research methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.
UpToDate
A great place to find information about medical conditions for your special needs dental patients, UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource.

CDC Oral Health Page
Offers information, tools, and networks that promote healthy behaviors and effective public health practices and programs.
National Institute of Dental & Craniofacial Research
The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) is the federal government’s lead agency for scientific research on oral, dental and craniofacial health and disease.
more...less...
NIDCR is one of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Knowledge Path for Oral Health for Infants, Children, Adolescents, and Pregnant Women
Electronic guide for oral health for infants, children, adolescents, and pregnant women. This guide points to resources that analyze data, describe effective programs, and report on policy and research aimed at improving access to and the quality of oral health care.
more...less...
This is a result of a joint effort by the Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University in collaboration with the National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center.

Treatment Planning in Dentistry by Stephen J. Stefanac, Samuel Paul Nesbit.
Call Number: RK318 .T74 2007
ISBN: 032303697X
Available in print
Dental Public Health and Research by Christine N. Nathe
ISBN: 9780134255460
Publication Date: 2016-01-13
Dental Public Health and Research explores the ever-changing world of dental public health-a dynamic career pathway for dental hygienists-and provides readers with the key tools needed to effectively practice and conduct dental hygiene in the public health setting; an ideal resource for board exam preparation.
Color Atlas of Common Oral Diseases by Robert P. Langlais; Craig S. Miller
Call Number: RC815 .L35 2017
ISBN: 9781496332080
Publication Date: 2016-04-20
Oral pathology : clinical pathologic correlations / by Regezi, Joseph A.
Call Number: RC815 .R39 2008
ISBN: 1416045708
Available in print
Justice in oral health care [electronic resource] : ethical and educational perspectives by Jos V.M. Welie
Call Number: RK52.7 .J87 2006eb
ISBN: 0874626706
Orthodontic and Dentofacial Orthopedic Treatment by Ali Darendeliler; William Bedford Clark; Jason Cope; Brian Preston; Thomas Rakosi; Thomas M. Graber
ISBN: 9783131277619
Publication Date: 2009-12-02
Written by experts in the field, this essential atlas provides a comprehensive discussion of the safest, fastest, and most efficient evidence-based orthodontic and dentofacial orthopedic treatments.
Current therapy in orthodontics by Ravindra Nanda, Sunil Kapila
Call Number: RK521 .C874 2010
ISBN: 0323054609
Available in print.
Evidence-Based Forensic Dentistry by Balwant Rai
Call Number: THIS BOOK IS AVAILABLE ON LINE.
ISBN: 3642289940
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This book presents basic concepts in the field and describes all the standard examination procedures currently employed in the acquisition of dental evidence.

Access Medicine
Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Includes an integrated differential diagnosis tool.
AccessPediatrics
Pediatric videos and animations. 5 user limit.
E-book Collection from EBSCOHost
A collection of thousands of electronic books from leading university, trade and professional publishers.
ebrary: Academic Complete Collection
Over 33,000 recent electronic books from university presses and other scholarly publishers covering all disciplines.
NCBI Bookshelf
Biomedical books adapted for Web access by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Access to a book page is by direct search or from a link in PubMed.
more...less...
VCU access only
R2 Digital Library
Collection of over 100 full-text books in the health sciences.
more...less...
VCU access only
STAT!Ref
Full-text cross-searchable reference books for the health professional. Includes AHFS Drug Information® and DrugPoints® System. Only 5 users at a time of each STAT!Ref resource.

Anatomy.TV
Interactive 3-D models, MRI sections, anatomy movies, and animation. Also has video tutorials to help you get started. Works best with Internet Explorer and has a 5 user limit.
Oral pathology review images
Images of common oral cavity abnormalities.
NCBI Images
PubMed Central (PMC) Images
From search results, "See More" under PMC Images on right-hand sidebar.
Lane Medical Library Bio-Image Search
Biomedical image search sortable by usage rights.
Visual DX
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that allows validation of a medical diagnosis based on visual conditions. It contains over 1,300 diagnoses and more than 25,000 medical images detailing variation in age, stage, and skin type.

Dentistry

Research and Education Librarian

Other Useful Research Guides

Literature Databases & Information Resources