VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Comic Arts

How to use the Comic Arts Collection for research.

Reminder

Just a reminder that Special Collections and Archives stacks are closed to patron browsing. 

All items must be requested at the front desk and a staff member will retrieve the items for you.  

The materials are non-circulating.

Be prepared to spend time in our quiet reading room while doing research.

For Your Information

You do not have to be doing research to use items in the collection! 

We welcome patrons who just want to spend some quiet time reading any of our comics and graphic novels.

Where Can I Find Comic Arts Books @ VCU

Comic Arts materials can be found in any number of locations throughout the Cabell Library, including Reference, Special Collections and Archives, and General Collection.

Items searchable through the Libraries' catalog will display the item location before the call number, for example:

James Branch Cabell Library
General Collection
PN 6728 .B36 L647 1998 (1 copy, 1 available)

 

James Branch Cabell Library
Special Collections and Archives
PN 6728 .B36 L647 1998 (1 copy, 1 available)

 

Items found in Special Collections and Archives are non-circulating. Digital copies are permitted on the KIC machine in our lobby if the item is in good repair.  You can email the pdf to yourself or save it to a jump drive.

High quality scans of Special Collections and Archives materials are made by arrangement. See a staff member for more details.

Most comic arts related materials are searchable via VCU Search.  Comic book titles are available via the Comic Book Index link.