VCU Libraries

Research Guides

History of Richmond Professional Institute

VCU and RPI Student Newspapers

For over forty years the Commonwealth Times has served as the student newspaper of Virginia Commonwealth University documenting the history and culture of VCU and Richmond. This digital collection includes over 1,680 issues of the Commonwealth Times, spanning the years from 1969 through 2010. Original copies are housed in Special Collections and Archives. Digital access is available HERE as part of the VCU Libraries' Digital Collections.

Earlier incarnations of the student newspaper include The Atlas [1929 - 1939) and The Proscript [1939 - 1969). They are housed in Special Collections and Archives and are now available online.

Digital access: Each issue of the Commonwealth Times up to the summer of 2004 has been scanned in its entirety from original print copies. Starting with September 2004, VCU Libraries presents digital archive PDFs received directly from the Commonwealth Times. The complete text of every issue is fully searchable. A text search can also be narrowed to only search front page headlines. For each issue, there is a link to a full PDF of the entire issue. Digital access is available HERE as part of the VCU Libraries' Digital Collections.

 

Cover of Fan Free Funnies

In the spring of 1973, The Commonwealth Times produced three issues of an all-comics black-and-white tabloid called Fan Free Funnies. All three issues are presented HERE in their entirety - as part of the VCU Libraries' Digital Collections..