Research Guides: Family Medicine Preceptors: Articles and Databases

Article Databases

These Databases will assist you in finding journal articles. To access full-text articles click on the Get-it @ VCU button to connect to the libraries collections.

PubMed/MEDLINE
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
more...less...
VCU access only
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Includes summaries, links to full-text when available, tools for comparison, glossary, and PDA downloads.
Cochrane Library
Database of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology.
more...less...
VCU access only
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)
APA database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents. Limited coverage from 1887 - 1926.
Popline
Abstracts of the international literature on reproductive health, including population, family planning, and related health issues.
AGELINE
Abstracts of the literature of social gerontology. Literature covered is of interest to researchers, health professionals, and consumers. Produced by AARP.
more...less...
(1978 - present) VCU access only
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine
Citations and abstracts to journal articles in complementary medicine, palliative care, occupational therapy, rehabilitation and other professions allied to medicine.
more...less...
(1985 - present) VCU access only

Other Useful Databases

These databases can be used to find materials on Anatomy, Pharmacology, Citations and Directory information.

Access Medicine
Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
Anatomy.TV
Web of Science
Citation databases that can be searched by topic and that has connections between sources, including journal articles and conference papers, that cite each other. It includes searches by cited reference as well as regular searches by keywords, title, and author.
Official ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists
Companion website to the print American Board of Medical Specialists Directory with more than 695,000 physician profiles.
more...less...
VCU access only
ClinicalKey
Clinical reference resource with over 1100 medical ebooks, 600+ full-text journals from Elsevier, FirstConsult point-of-care monographs, procedural videos, drug information, practice guidelines, patient education handouts and more.