Research Guides: Contemporary Art: Home

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online
Integrated searchable access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and more. (Limited to 3 simultaneous users)

Yale Art and Architecture ePortal
Authoritative scholarly eBooks by academic and museum publishers as well as unique peer-reviewed content, covering art history, architecture, decorative art, photography, and design. Includes searchable images along with supplemental audio and video.

Cahiers d'Art Institute
Digital catalogue raisonnés, comprehensive and annotated compilations of all known works by an artist. These works also contain videos and digital archives.

Library Stack
Library Stack is an online archive of digital arts publications from the fields of contemporary art, graphic design, architecture, film and philosophy. Library Stack draws from diverse global platforms, and has a particular focus on hybrid works.

A Guide to Teaching with Library Stack
Shows how to navigate the collection, retrieve and share contents with students and efficiently communicate about that content.

Bloomsbury Video Library
Digital video streaming collection of films for arts education and arts practitioners. Includes films produced by Contemporary Arts Media as well as independent artists, film producers, and arts organizations.
PBS Art21
Art21 showcases today's contemporary visual artists and their groundbreaking creations. (Streaming on PBS.org)

Art 21: Art in the 21st Century
An intimate view of artists' lives, creative processes, and sources of inspiration. Each program profiles three to five artists, from painters, photographers, and sculptors to performance and video artists.
Seasons 1-9 available on DVD. Some seasons streaming online.

Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
Important artists, styles, and movements of the past 70 yearsincluding more than 900 cross-referenced entries on important artists, styles, terms, and movements.
50 Contemporary Artists You Should Know
Call Number: N40 .F56 2012
Contemporary Artists
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference N6490 .C6567 2002
Contemporary Art in North America
Call Number: N6512.7 .C668 2011
Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: A Sourcebook of Artist's Writings
Call Number: N6490 .T492 2012
A dictionary of modern and contemporary art
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Includes worldwide coverage of modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day. It features A to Z entries on movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, schools, and galleries.

If you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.

Inter-library Loan (ILL)
Via Interlibrary Loan, you can borrow books, articles, and DVDs that VCU does not own.

WorldCat (via FirstSearch)
Consolidated catalog of items held by OCLC member libraries worldwide. WorldCat FirstSearch is the subscription version of the WorldCat database, with advanced search options and result listing by number of copies available.

RALC
The Richmond Academic Library Consortium is a group of Richmond area libraries which have agreed to extend limited borrowing privileges to students, faculty, and staff of any RALC school.