- VCU Education Abroad
For information on planning your study abroad experience through VCU, visit the Education Abroad web page.
- National Scholarship Office
Not sure you have the funding to study abroad? Visit the National Scholarship Office to explore study abroad opportunities that may come with funding.
- Scholarship Application Support
Need help working on your application? Go to our Scholarship Support Guide to find resources and information to strengthen your essays.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text legal, business and news information.
- New York Times
More than a newspaper for an American city, the New York Times is an international record of national and world news, as well as personal stories of how events affect individuals.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Full text for more than 130 national and international newspapers, including New York Times, Washington Post, Times (London). Selective full text for over 335 US newspapers. In addition, full-text radio and television news transcripts are provided.
- BBC World News
Read up to date news from around the world.
- Online Newspapers
An online newspaper directory providing links to newspapers from around the world, in many languages. Narrow by region or language.
- Internet Public Library
Search for newspapers and magazines from around the world that are freely available online.
If you're thinking about studying abroad, use the tabs above to find information on countries you might be interested in. If you've already arranged to spend time abroad, use this guide to gain more in-depth knowledge about the country you'll be visiting.
Already abroad? Check out the VCU Libraries Access Abroad page, where you'll find information on how to use VCU Libraries while you're away.
Find information useful to your grant proposal. The most effective way to do this? Contact a librarian who can help you determine what you need, and find helpful info and resources.
- CIA World Factbook
Provides information on 266 world entities. A great place to learn about your country's people, history, economy and transnational issues.
A great source for useful statistics that are easily comparable by country. Information is compiled from the United Nations, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and more.
- United Nations Country Information
Provides a data snapshot including economic and social indicators and environmental statistics
- US Department of State
The Department of State provides news, data, and policy updates of interest to the United States.
- Centre for Intercultural Learning: Country Insights
"The Centre is Canada's largest provider of cross-cultural and international training services for internationally-assigned government and private sector personnel." Use the Country Insights to learn more about your country's culture and customs.