This is the "Home" page of the "Complementary and Alternative Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Complementary and Alternative Medicine   Tags: allied_health, chec, complementary_medicine, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, subject  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/cam Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Complementary and Alternative Medicine Guide, where you will find a variety of library resources to answer questions on complementary and alternative therapies.

If you cannot find what you are looking for in ten minutes, it is time to call a librarian!

Related research guides

  Ask Us!

TMLTompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences

Call: 804-828-0636
Toll-free: 1-866-VCU-BOOK
Fax: (804) 828-6089

 

509 North 12th Street
PO Box 980582
Richmond, VA 23298-0582

Spacer

Best Bets

  • AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine  
      
    Citations and abstracts to journal articles in complementary medicine, palliative care, occupational therapy, rehabilitation and other professions allied to medicine.
  • Cochrane Library  
      
    Database of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology.
  • MEDLINE/PubMed
    The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields. Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) subset is included.
  • MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series Intranet Application
    Databases of summaries and detailed monographs for drugs and drug interactions. [NOTE: Not all databases are available].
  • The Natural Standard
    Evidence-based, peer-reviewed information on complementary and alternative medicine treatments. Includes evaluation of therapies for specific conditions, herbs and supplements, and diet therapies.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Citation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.
  • PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset (ODS and NLM)  
      
    Dietary Supplement Subset of NLM's PubMed. Provides access to citations from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources.

  • Dietary Supplement Label Databases
    NLM database with links to other NML resources. Has information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.

Related Guides

Evidence-Based Medicine
by John Cyrus, Margaret Henderson - Last Updated Jul 31, 2012
290 views this year
Pharmacy & Pharmacotherapy
by Jennifer McDaniel, Barbara Wright - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
3,459 views this year
Health and Wellness
by Dana Ladd - Last Updated Jan 24, 2014
These consumer health links provide access to a wide range of health and medical information available on the Internet. They do not give medical advice or interpretation, and the information is not a substitute for consultation with your health care profe
326 views this year
 

Become a Fan!

Research and Education Librarian

Profile Image
Irene Lubker
Contact Info
Tompkins McCaw Library for the Health Sciences
509 North 12th Street
PO Box 980582
Richmond, VA 23298-0582

Call: 804-828-0636
Toll-free: 1-866-VCU-BOOK
(1-866-828-2665)
Fax: (804) 828-6089
Send Email
Job Title:
Research and Education Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip