Research Guides: Tests, Surveys, and Measures: Books with Instruments

Selected E-books with Instruments

Assessing children's well-being: a handbook of measures.
E-book and print copy (Health Sciences Library RJ50 .A835 2004 Normal Loan) For physicians, social workers, nurses, psychologists working with pediatric populations. Includes 20 scales/measures that are not copyrighted or for which authors have given permission to reproduce.
Exacting Beauty: Theory, Assessment, and Treatment of Body Image Disorders
Published by the APA. Scales/ questionnaires are included in chapter appendices.
Measuring violence related attitudes, behaviors, and influences among youths : a compendium of assessment tools.
Contains more than 170 measures, many from major longitudinal and prevention research studies of youth violence in the United States.
Positive psychological assessment : a handbook of models and measures.
Published by the APA. Many instruments included in chapter appendices (Eisenberg et al. child-report sympathy scale, Heartland Forgiveness scale, Proactive Coping Scale, Sociomoral Reflection Measure, Adult Dispositional Hope Scale, Satisfaction with Life scale).

Selected Handbooks and Guides with Instruments

Handbook of clinical rating scales and assessment in psychiatry and mental health.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library RC473.P78 H36 2010 Normal Loan
Has ready-to-copy versions of many popular, valid, reliable scales, checklists, scoring keys and links to websites containing on-line versions.
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. 3 vols.
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HQ728 .H267 2001 Non-circulating
Vols. 1 & 2 summarize instruments suitable for diverse populations in all areas of family studies. Vol. 3 contains 168 of the instruments.
Handbook of research design and social measurement.
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference H62 .M44 1991
51 complete instruments measuring socioeconomic status, social distance, social perceptions, networks, etc.
Handbook of tests and measurement in education and the social sciences.
Call Number: Cabell Library LB3051 .L4543 2000 Normal Loan
Full text of 120 instruments measuring constructs ranging from alienation to teaching behaviors.
Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations 2 vols.
Call Number: Cabell Library BF176 .H37 1996 Normal Loan
Over 100 instruments developed for use with African American children, adolescents, family (vol.1) late adolescents, young adults, older age groups (vol.2). Many instruments are reproduced.
Measures for Clinical Practice: a sourcebook.
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference BF176 .C66 2007
More than 400 complete "rapid assessment instruments" (RAIs) for use with couples, families, children (vol.1) and adults (vol.2).
Practitioner’s guide to empirically based measures of social skills.
Call Number: Cabell Library HM691 .P73 2010 Normal Loan
In-depth reviews of nearly 100 measures relevant to children, adolescents, adults. More than a dozen measures reproduced (Interpersonal Competence Questionnaire; Teenage Inventory of Social Skills).