This is the "Home" page of the "History of Richmond Professional Institute" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

VCU Libraries

Research Guides

History of Richmond Professional Institute  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/rpihistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome.

Welcome to the History of Richmond Professional Institute (RPI) Research Guide where you will find a variety of resources related to the history of RPI which was the forerunner to VCU on the Monroe Park Campus. RPI merged with the Medical College of Virginia in 1968 to form VCU.

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives, located on the fourth floor of the James Branch Cabell Library, houses books, journals, manuscript collections, photographs, and other materials that support the academic programs of the Monroe Park Campus of Virginia Commonwealth University. The department is open weekdays 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (other hours by appointment).

James Branch Cabell Library
Special Collections and Archives
901 Park Avenue
P.O. Box 842033
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2033

Email: libjbcsca@vcu.edu

(804) 828-1108 phone
(804) 828-0151 (fax)

Staff:

 

Best Bets

Dr. Henry H. Hibbs, Jr. at his desk in Ginter House, ca. 1930s.

A History of the Richmond Professional Institute: From Its Beginning in 1917 to Its Consolidation With the Medical College of Virginia in 1968 to Form Virginia Commonwealth University was written by Dr. Henry H. Hibbs, Jr. (1887-1977), long-time head of Richmond Professional Institute (RPI) - is available as a part of VCU Libraries' Digital Collections.

VCU yearbooks and alumni publications from both campuses are now available online. The VCU Libraries has digitized yearbooks and alumni publications published by Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) from both the Monroe Park Campus and the MCV Campus and from its predecessors Richmond Professional Institute (RPI) and the Medical College of Virginia (MCV) - they are of VCU Libraries' Digital Collections.

Ray Bonis, Archives Coordinator, Special Collections and Archives

Profile Image
-
Contact Info
Ray Bonis
Archives Coordinator
Special Collections and Archives
James Branch Cabell Library
VCU Libraries
rfbonis@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1108
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip