Welcome to the Graduate Student Research Guide, where you'll find everything you need to start your research.
To carry all of this information in your pocket, print out a copy of the Pocket Toolkit (or pick one up next time you visit the library).
These research guides address special topics that may be of interest to graduate students.
These are a variety of the tools most commonly used by graduate students for research at VCU. More detailed information about each is available at the linked pages, but don't hesitate to get in touch via the Ask Us! box if you have questions about them or would like to meet for a research consultation.
- Databases A-Z
Alphabetical list of all VCU Libraries' subscription databases.
- Databases A to Z: Mobile by Subject
List of Databases available via Mobile devices.
- Research Guides
Web pages developed by VCU Librarians to provide guidance on locating resources for particular fields of study.
- Data Services
Find out how you can obtain numeric data files for secondary analysis from ICPSR
and where you can access geospatial
- Find Dissertations
Find out how to obtain access to dissertations and how to submit your own thesis or dissertation for inclusion into the VCU Libraries collection.
Tool for finding out if we have a journal, if access is available electronically or in print, and what years are available.
- Interlibrary Loan Services
While VCU Libraries has over 2 million titles and over 16,000 serial (journal) subscriptions, we may not always have everything you need in our collection. Set up your account to use Illiad – our online interface for requesting items through Interlibrary loan (ILL). With ILL you may request copies of journal articles, books, and other media that the library does not own.
Visit the library! Check the main library Web page to find hours and VCU Libraries Study Spaces.
- John Mapp Graduate Study and Reading Room
Provides a quiet study environment for graduate students.
- Cabell Library Group Study Rooms
VCU Libraries have a variety of study space options including group study rooms. Students, faculty, and staff can reserve study rooms at James Branch Cabell Library and Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences.
- Borrowing Materials from the VCU Libraries
Everything you need to know about borrowing privileges for graduate students.
- Laptops in the Library
- Media & Technology
Find more information about the media and technology available at VCU Libraries.
- Print your poster
Large format printing is available at both Tompkins-McCaw Library and James Branch Cabell Library
- Take a tour
Tours are typically offered for the first couple weeks of the semester. They highlight important resources and offer both useful information and tips to get the most out of your visits to the library. Contact your librarian for more information about attending or setting up a tour.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Digital archive of primary source collections from the "long" 19th century. Includes monographs, newspapers, manuscripts, diaries, letters, maps, statistics and more.