Databases covering the sciences, health sciences, arts, business, and social sciences. They can be searched all at once, in subject groups or one at a time. The science collection is especially strong in environmental studies.
Citation databases that can be searched by topic and that has connections between sources, including journal articles and conference papers, that cite each other. It includes searches by cited reference as well as regular searches by keywords, title, and author.
The foremost reference database in the life sciences; provides abstracts of literature in biological and biomedical areas. Includes Biological Abstracts, Biological Abstracts/RRM, and BioResearch Index.
Citations to articles in English-language periodicals; abstracts and full text coverage for selected journals. Periodical coverage includes a wide range of scientific journals, from popular to professional. About 45 % of the focus is on agriculture.
Academic Search Complete has information about both popular and scholarly articles on a variety of topics and includes full text for many of them. It's a good place to get a few articles on a topic, especially if you are just getting started.
References to content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Covers Journal of Ecology (1913- ) and Planning Outlook (1948- ) from volume 1, issue 1.
PubMed is the primary database for locating research articles in medicine, health and biology. Although using PubMed to discover articles is free, go through VCU Libraries and use Get It @ VCU to access the full text of subscription (non-free) articles.
Abstracts of the literature in all areas of toxicology including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens; (does not include information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or IPA).
Citation management tool for storing and managing references; creating bibliographies. Supports most citation styles. Requires an individual account set up from a VCU Libraries link. Available to VCU and MCVH-VCU email account holders.