Research Guides: FASH 250: Concepts of Fashion Merchandising Environment: Home

The Fashion Industry

IBISWorld
Provides access to Industry Reports: analyses of U.S. industries categorized by NAICS, and to ProcurementIQ: full-text procurement reports on indirect purchasing lines and products.
Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Investment information and analysis on companies, industries, stocks and bonds, mutual funds, and dividends. Includes industry surveys, stock reports, and bond guides, among others.
-Read the Industry Survey for Apparel & Footwear for an overview of the economy and how it relates to the fashion industry.
-Search for info about publicly-traded fashion company stocks by name.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Analysis on stocks, mutual funds and exchange-traded funds. Includes market information and a tool to create investment portfolios.
Search for info about publicly-traded fashion company stocks by name.
Value Line
Financial analysis, performance data, and growth projections on stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities, as well as special situation stocks.
Search for info about publicly-traded fashion company stocks by name.

Investopedia
Founded with the mission of simplifying financial decisions and information.
Great resource for learning about financial terminology - browse the Dictionary under the Education tab, or use the search box.

WWD
Direct, online access to WWD, the “Bible” of the fashion industry. (limited to 10 concurrent users)
WWD (via Business Source Complete)
PDFs of WWD articles from 2004 to the present (delayed by 1 day).

Research Tips:

Search in Business Source Complete & ABI/Inform for the company/brand name AND
1. consumers/customers, strategy, marketing etc. AND ESG Keywords
A company's corporate website is a great source of information (e.g. gapinc.com).

Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full-text content from peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts, full-text journals and periodicals on business, finance, and management topics. Includes all content in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Includes full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.
Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.
Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.

Mintel
Full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets. Reports analyze market share, segmentation, and trends. Upon first login register with your VCU email address.
WGSN (World Global Style Network)
Focusing on the areas and intersections of fashion, style, and commerce, WGSN provides a global view on trends in design. Its archive contains millions of images from the runways, the street, retail outlets, and design sketches.
Fashion Snoops
A global trend forecasting agency focused on the industries of fashion, interior design, and wellness. A personal account, using your VCU email, is required to use the CREATE area or save content.

Wall Street Journal (via ABI/Inform)
Business news from the US and around the world.
The Economist (via ABI/Inform)
International publication that focuses on current affairs, business, politics, and technology.
WSJ Company List
Browse companies by country or sector to find out which exchanges they're traded on.
FinWiz Exchange Traded Funds Map
An interactive data visualization of stocks listed on US stock exchanges, categorized by sectors and industries. Size represents market cap.
Fashion Merchandising Research Guide