Research Guides: FRSC 300: Survey of Forensic Science: Home

Scientific Research Articles

Web of Science
Citation database of scholarly literature covering all scientific disciplines.
PubMed
PubMed is the go-to source for biomedical & health sciences research. Use Get it @ VCU to go through the library to access subscription (non-free) articles.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database. It contains both scholarly and non-scholarly content. Use the limiters on the left to select which you want.
Biological Sciences
Abstracts of a wide variety of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
more...less...
(1982 - present) VCU access only
General Science Full Text
Coverage of core journals in all areas of science. Easy to use, designed for the non-specialist. Full-text for selected periodicals.

Scifinder
CAS database for chemical literature. Search by author, topic, substance name or CAS Registry Number, and draw chemical structures or reactions.
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Citations and abstracts of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
Legal Collection
Scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal topics include criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor and human resources, ethics, and the environment.
WestlawNext Campus Research
Legal research, business information, and news. Full-text access to federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, administrative codes, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, newspapers and magazines.

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences by Siegel, Jay A.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the core theories, methods, techniques and applications employed by forensic scientists.
Reference Manual on Scientific Evidence
Furthers the goal of assisting federal judges in recognizing the characteristics and reasoning of "science" as it is relevant in litigation.

Taylor & Francis eBooks (formerly CRCnetBase)
Search or browse Taylor & Francis eBooks. Select 'Show content I have access to' when the results display. Browse by subjects to display results similar to the ...netBASE contents, e.g., Bioscience, Engineering, Environment. Can be used for course content: Science, Technology, Engineering and Medicine ebooks.
CHEMnetBASE
A collection of chemical and chemical-related dictionaries, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Quick search function allows users to perform searches on chemical terms and structures simultaneously across the entire database.
Knovel Library
E-books and other reference works in engineering, chemistry and biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences, and other areas. Utilizes interactive tables with customizable data, charts, graphs, and equations.