Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences
- Access Medicine
Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device
* Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
* Hurst's The Heart
* DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination
* Stern's Symptom to Diagnosis
- MDConsult / FIRSTConsult
An online clinical library includes reference books, journals, and patient education materials. Includes an option for a personal account.
FIRSTConsult provides evidence-based primary care information designed to be used at point-of-care. Tools for differential diagnosis, evaluation and management of medical conditions, patient education and procedures skills review.
Clinical information tool providing reviewed clinical reference material. Includes pharmaceutical information, patient handouts, graphics. Provided by the VCU Health System. New: Access is available from on campus only.
- Visual DX
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that allows validation of a medical diagnosis based on visual conditions. It contains over 1,300 diagnoses and more than 25,000 medical images detailing variation in age, stage, and skin type.
- PubMed (MEDLINE)
The primary database for biomedical and health sciences literature.
Identify full-text online journals and remote access available through VCU Libraries using the VCU Libraries "Get It @ VCU" icon.
Limit by topic, publication type, date of publication, human or animal study, age group, and more.
Store searches and set up alerts using PubMed’s MyNCBI Service.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Database of systematic reviews of healthcare topics.
- Google Scholar
A simple way to conduct a broad search of scholarly literature indexed by Google. Results are ranked by journal impact factor, author, and number of citations.
- CHEC (Community Health Education Center)
CHEC, a partnership of VCU Health System, VCU Libraries, and the VCU Health System Auxiliary, is a library where patients and their family members can find reliable health information. CHEC provides books, consumer health journals, videos, and computers.
Extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
- MedCalc 3000
MedCalc 3000 encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types.
Citation management tool for storing and managing references; creating bibliographies. Supports most citation styles. Requires an individual account set up from a VCU Libraries link. Available to VCU and MCVH-VCU email account holders.
A simple way to browse, read, monitor and organize scholarly journals on your tablet or phone.
- Read by QX MD (Android)
Provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed.
- Read by QXMD (Apple)
- Health Statistics Online
The guide will assist you in finding various health statistics from online resources at the international, national, and state or local level.
- Drug Information
Provides centralized access to all drug information resources available through the library.