Welcome to the Medicine Guide, where you'll find a variety of library resources to support your clinical work.
Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences
Fax: (804) 828-6089
509 North 12th Street
PO Box 980582
Richmond, VA 23298-0582
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
- MD Consult
A clinical library online; includes reference books, journals, and patient education materials. Includes an option for a personal account.
- Access Medicine
Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Includes an integrated differential diagnosis tool.
* Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
* Hurst's The Heart
* Schwartz's Principles of Surgery
* Williams Obstetrics
* Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
- STAT!Ref Electronic Medical Library
Full-text cross-searchable reference books for the health professional. Includes Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment and DSM-IV-TR.
Clinical information tool providing reviewed clinical reference material. Includes pharmaceutical information, patient handouts, graphics. Provided by the VCU Health System. New: Access is available from on campus only.
If you have not found what you are looking for in 10 minutes ... it's time to call me.
As your librarian I provide many information based services for free, including:
- Systematic Reviews - assistance with searching, citation management, and appraisal.
- Expert Literature Searches
- Evidence Based Practice Searches
- Citation Management assistance
- and more.
I can also come to your office, lab or facutly meeting, or class to give presentations on:
- PubMed, Web of Science, BIOSIS, or any other VCU Libraries resource
- Setting up an account for RefWorks, personal or group
- Finding images or protocols