Research Guides: Nurse Anesthesia: Home

Best Bets

AccessAnesthesiology
Search anesthesiology reference tools for practice guidelines, procedure videos, drug information, and quick answers. Includes full-text clinical textbooks for anesthesiology.
more...less...
A limited number of users can view the content at one time; some users may have to wait a few minutes for access.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
more...less...
(1937 - present) VCU access only
Cochrane Library
Database of Cochrane Collaboration systematic reviews healthcare evidence. Also includes databases of clinical trials, other systematic reviews, and review methodology.
ECRI Institute
After the National Clearinghouse Guidelines was shutdown in July 2018, the ECRI Institute has compiled this repository in response to serve as a "continuously updated repository gives you access to expertly vetted evidence-based Guideline Briefs based on guidelines from participating guideline developers, medical specialty societies, and other healthcare organizations." Registration is required and currently free.
PubMed/MEDLINE
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
more...less...
VCU access only
UpToDate
Clinical information tool providing reviewed clinical reference material. Includes pharmaceutical information, patient handouts, graphics. Provided by the VCU Health System.

LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection
This ebook collection includes core biomedical science texts in anatomy, microbiology, pathology, physiology, and more. Also includes Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.

Related Guides

Anesthesiology
by John Cyrus Last Updated Aug 8, 2023 116 views this year
Patient Safety
by Dana Ladd Last Updated Nov 3, 2023 23 views this year

Nursing Evidence Based Practice Resources
by Roy Brown Last Updated Mar 13, 2024 486 views this year

Evidence-Based Practice

Health Equity
by Samantha Guss Last Updated Jul 24, 2023 16 views this year

Personalized Information Services

If you have not found what you are looking for in 10 minutes ... it's time to call your librarian.

Your librarian can provide many information based services for free, including:

Systematic Reviews - assistance with searching, citation management, and appraisal.
Expert Literature Searches
Evidence Based Practice Searches
Citation Management assistance
and more.

We can also come to your office, lab or faculty meeting, or class to give presentations on:

PubMed, CINAHL, PsycInfo, or any other VCU Libraries resource
Finding images or protocols