This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing - Clinical Rotation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Nursing - Clinical Rotation   Tags: nursing, nursing clinical rotations  

This guide is intended to provide links to sources that can be helpful when doing pre-assessments and other activities during clinical rotations.
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/nursing-rotation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Pharmacology/Drug Resources

These resources contain drug monographs, information on drug interactions and information on various diseases and conditions.

  • AccessPharmacy (Only 5 Users at a Time)
    Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, or searching across 30 leading pharmacy online textbooks. Includes most recent edition of Dipiro's Pharmacotherapy
  • MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series Intranet Application
    Databases of summaries and detailed monographs for drugs and drug interactions. Drug interaction tool. [NOTE: Not all databases are available. Firefox 4.0 and above not supported.].
  • UpToDate (Available on Campus Only)
    Clinical information tool providing reviewed clinical reference material. Includes pharmaceutical information, patient handouts, graphics. Provided by the VCU Health System.
  • Natural Standard
    Evidence-based, peer-reviewed information on complementary and alternative medicine treatments. Includes evaluation of therapies for specific conditions, herbs and supplements, and diet therapies.
  • MD Consult
    A clinical library online; includes reference books, journals, drug information and patient education materials. Includes an option for a personal account.
  • AccessSurgery (Only 5 Users at a Time)
    Resource for surgical education including textbooks, videos, drug information, and board review questions.
  • AccessMedicine (Only 5 Users at a Time)
    Collection of over 60 medical textbooks. Also includes drug information, case files, diagnostic tools, self-assessment questions and patient handouts.

Information on Conditions & Interventions

Resources below will provide information on conditions and interventions.  The information is provided with references to articles (in most instances).

  • MEDLINEplus
    Extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical database
  • First Consult
    Evidence-based primary care information designed to be used at point-of-care. Tools for differential diagnosis, evaluation and management of medical conditions, patient education and procedures skills review.
  • PubMedHealth
    resource from the National Library of Medicine, specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
  • UpToDate (Available on Campus Only)
    Clinical information tool providing reviewed clinical reference material. Includes pharmaceutical information, patient handouts, graphics. Provided by the VCU Health System.
  • Access Medicine
    Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device

    * Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
    * Hurst's The Heart
    * Schwartz's Principles of Surgery
    * Williams Obstetrics
    * Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
  • MD Consult
    A clinical library online; includes reference books, journals, and patient education materials. Includes an option for a personal account.
  • STAT!Ref Electronic Medical Library  
      
    Full-text cross-searchable reference books for the health professional. Includes other resources such as ICD-9-CM and MedCalc 3000, a unique computerized medical reference and tool set.

VCU SON Liaison

Profile Image
Roy Brown
Contact Info
Phone: 804-828-1592

Tompkins-McCaw Library
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip