Surveys and Data Collection Systems, NCHSLinks to national health surveys and resulting data. Surveys include: National Health & Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), National Hospital Discharge Survey (NHDS), etc.
Behavioral Risk Factors Surveillance System (BRFSS)From CDC, world’s largest, ongoing telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the U.S. yearly since 1984. Factors assessed include tobacco use, health care coverage, HIV/AIDS, physical activity, consumption.
CDC WonderWONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems, both local and external, categorized here by topic.
CDC: Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)PRAMS, the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy.
AHRQ: State SnapshotsThe State Snapshots provide State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report (MMRWR)A series of weekly reports from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) providing provisional data on selected diseases reported from the states.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)"The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations."
National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)Monitoring the nation's health since 1957, NHIS tracks trends in illness and disability and progress made toward achieving national health objectives.
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)Covers workplace safety and health topics, including industries and occupations, hazards and exposures, diseases and injuries, chemicals, safety and prevention, and emergency preparedness and response.
United States Health TrendsAn annual report on the U.S. trends in health statistics covering such topics as: birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health WorkforcePartners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
Centers for Disase Control and Prevention (CDC)The source of information and statistics on health, safety, emergency preparedness, environmental health, diseases and conditions, injury, workplace safety, and life stages,
FEMA - Federal Emergency Management AgencyFEMA is an agency with the US Department of Homeland Security charged disaster mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery planning.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) from the CDCSource of information and compiled statistics about America's health. Includes links to the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Hospital Discharge Survey (NHDS), and more.
WIC - Women, Infants, Children"WIC provides Federal grants to States for supplemental foods, health care referrals, and nutrition education for low-income pregnant, breastfeeding, and non-breastfeeding postpartum women, and to infants and children up to age five who are found to be at nutritional risk."
CDC SNAPS | VirginiaNAPS provides local-level community profile information nationwide. It can be browsed by county and state and searched by zip code.
Special Topics
Office of Women's Health: Health Information GatewayThe resource provides state- and county-level data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US territories and possessions. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and come from a variety of national and state sources. The system is organized into eleven main categories, including demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health. Within each main category, there are numerous subcategories. Data are current as of March 1, 2016.
Chat