VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Parents

Join us!

Friends of VCU Libraries:
Parents! You are invited to join the Friends of VCU Libraries. In addition to helping support collections, programming and outreach for your student, you can also take advantage of Friends benefits! Friends donors receive borrowing privileges and invitations to a wide variety of programming and lectures. We hope to see you in the library.

Have more questions? Contact me!

Donna E. Coghill's picture
Donna E. Coghill
Contact:
Cabell Library, 121K
(804) 828-6554
decoghil@vcu.edu

VCU Libraries and You

Welcome to VCU Libraries! We encourage all parents to visit us at James Branch Cabell Library on the Monroe Park Campus,  or Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences on the MCV Campus. In addition to the in-house collections at both libraries, we also have exciting digital collections and online exhibits that anyone can access online.

At Cabell Library:
Comic Arts Collection
Book Art Collection

At Tompkins-McCaw Library:
Medical Artifacts Collection
Rare Books and Periodicals

Our librarians work as liaisons in specific units - schools, colleges, and programs. These subject specialists provide many services including one-one-one research assistance. Learn more about all the ways your students can get help here

Cabell Library on the Monroe Park Campus

Your student is going to find a study area that suits their needs, no matter how they prefer to study! We have collaborative, quiet, and silent spaces, as well as group study rooms they can reserve online. Our extensive, flexible hours make things even easier - plus we encourage our late night researchers to use RamSafe

Cabell Library has many great collections for your students; of particular note for first-year students (and parents) is the Academic and Career Collections. The Study Skills collection contains books about presentations, college life, note taking, and time management. The Career collection can help guide your student through everything from choosing a major, finding a job, resume skills, and more. Both collections can save your student time and stress by preparing for them their next best steps.

Cabell Library
901 Park Ave, Richmond, VA 23284-2033

Last, but most certainly not least, your students will have access to the most amazing technologies in The Workshop, our Lower Level media rich space. Your students will even be able to access audiovisual equipment for loan and in-house tools and spaces including a makerspace for hands-on creativity. 

Tompkins-McCaw Library on the MCV Campus

Is your student living on or near the MCV Campus? We have a library nearby! 

Tompkins-McCaw Library
509 N. 12th St., Richmond, VA 23298-0582

In addition to being the largest health sciences library in Virginia, Tompkins-McCaw Library is a great place to study. There are many quiet and silent areas to discover. Additionally, the helpful staff at the Information Desk is happy to assist your student.