Evidence-Based Practice Sources
Books | Videos
Faculty | Graduate Students
Tools | Tutorials
The Literature Review Process
Have questions? Email or call for an appointment
Website / Blog Page
Other Helpful Guides
APA Citation Style
Literature Review Guide
Tests, Measures, & Surveys
Writing With Integrity
Finding Grey Literature
The custom search engine enables you to search across hundreds of IGOs simultaneously
NGO Custom Search Engine
NGO's, also referred to as "civil society" organizations, bring public concerns to governments, monitor policy and program implementation, and play an important role in policy decisions.
Recommended Starting Points for Peer-Reviewed Articles
Social Work Abstracts
Locate articles on a variety of social work topics. Produced by the NASW, Inc.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Literature relevant to the caring professions in health, social services, psychology, more.
Social Services Abstracts
Research on human services, social welfare, social policy, community development
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides extensive full-text coverage for subjects in psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Sociological, cultural, social psychological content (theoretical and empirical) relevant to social work practice.
Extensive coverage of social casework, case management, family and individual therapies, child welfare, youth services, social services, more.
Race Relations Abstracts
For access to the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.
Locating Theories Related to Social Work Practice
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
A good source for historical background, prominent contributers to the a theory's developement and evolution over time along wtih the methodological implications and applications.
Search tips for the International Encyclopedia
Other Recommended Databases
Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Covers psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas relevant to geriatric studies
Social gerontology literature of interest to researchers, health professionals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Find health related articles on Child Welfare; Community Services; Disabled; Foster Care; Public Policy
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Journal articles, governmental and non-governmental reports on criminal justice topics.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (Proquest)
Full text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. All disciplines, including social work.
Index to the world's literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender issues.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes extensive coverage of topics relevant to social work.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Access articles from major journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.
Find theory, concepts, and research relevant to social work practice and policy.
Access the DSM
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition
Go to Section II: Diagnostic Criteria/ Codes
This standard reference in the mental health field for clinicians, students, practitioners, and researchers.
For Topics in Social Work Practice
The Social Work Reference Center
Search Diseases & Conditions (HIV, workplace violence); Practices & Skills (preparing adoptive parents, culturally competent care, etc.); Drugs (search by drug or vaccine name (Abilify, Xanax, Human Papillomavirus Vaccine, etc.)
SLWK 311: Social Work and Oppressed Groups
SLWK 313: Person in Society
SLWK 601 Human Behavior in the Social Environment
SLWK 602 Handout
SLWK 603: Social Work and Social Justice
602 Search Handout Fall '17
Evidence-Based Practice Sources >>