This is the "Databases" page of the "Health Sciences Resources: Tips & Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Sciences Resources: Tips & Tools   Tags: allied_health, dentistry, health_sciences, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, research, researchers_support  

A number of search guides, handouts, podcasts, and tutorials are available to help you get the most out of library resources.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/tips Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Tips, Tricks, & Tools Resource Guide where you'll find a variety of search guides, handouts, and tutorials to help you get the most out of library resources.

Ask Us!

TMLTompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences

Call: 804-828-0636
Toll-free: 1-866-VCU-BOOK
Fax: (804) 828-6089

 

509 North 12th Street
PO Box 980582
Richmond, VA 23298-0582

Spacer
 

Help Using Databases

AccessMedicine

         Quick Guide to AccessMedicine (from McGraw Hill) 

Anatomy.TV

Handout (from VCU Libraries)

BIOSIS Previews

Database Guide (from OVID)

BLAST – see NCBI Molecular Biology Databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)

Help Sheet (from EBSCOHost)

Cn3D -- NCBI Molecular Biology Databases

ClinicalTrials.Gov

FAQ: Clinical Trials.gov (from the National Library of Medicine)
Online Search Help (from the National Library of Medicine)

Cochrane Library

Search Manual (from the Cochrane Collaboration)
Handout (from VCU Libraries)

GenBank -- see NCBI Molecular Biology Databases

Google Scholar

Information and Set-up (from VCU Libraries)

LexisNexis Academic

Getting Started Guide (PDF from LexisNexis)

MEDLINE -- see “PubMed”

MedlinePlus

MedlinPlus Tour - also in Spanish (tutorial with audio) (from the National Library of Medicine)
Brochure for Health Professionals  (PDF from National Library of Medicine)
Trifold Brochure – also in Spanish (PDFs from National Library of Medicine)
Search Tips (from National Library of Medicine)

MICROMEDEX

Micromedex 2.0 Overview (eLearning self-paced tutorial from Thomson Reuters)
Quick Reference Card (PDF from Thomson Reuters)

NCBI Molecular Biology Databases

BLAST Guide (PDF from the National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Cn3D Tutorial (from the National Center for Biotechnology Information)
GenBank Fact Sheet (PDF from the National Center for Biotechnology Information)
PSI-BLAST Tutorial (from the National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Structure Resources Handout (from the National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Web Services Handout (from the National Center for Biotechnology Information)

Ovid Databases

User Guides (Training and help guides from Ovid)
Ovid Database Field Guides
(In-depth documentation for each Ovid database)

PsycInfo

User Guide (from EBSCOhost)

PSI-BLAST -- see NCBI Molecular Biology Databases

PubMed

PubMed Basics Handout (from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine)
PubMed Fact Sheet (PDF from the National Center for Biotechnology Information)
PubMed Tutorial (from the National Library of Medicine)
Distance Education Program resources (from the National Library of Medicine)
Importing Citations from PubMed into Reference Manager (from ISI ResearchSoft)
Accessing Full-Text Articles (from VCU Libraries)
Setting up PubMed RSS Feeds (from VCU Libraries)
Setting Up RSS Feeds in Mozilla ThunderBird (Tutorial with audio) (from VCU Libraries)
What's the Difference between MEDLINE and PubMed? (from the National Library of Medicine)

ToxNet

ToxNet Fact Sheet (from the National Network Libraries of Medicine)
ToxNet Training Manual (from the National Network Libraries of Medicine)

Web of Knowledge / Web of Science

Web of Knowledge Tutorials (recorded training sessions from Thomson Reuters)
Web of Science Quick Reference Card (from Thompson Reuter)

WorldCat

WorldCat PowerPoint Tutorial (from OCLC)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shannon D. Jones
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Tompkins McCaw Library for the Health Sciences
509 North 12th Street
PO Box 980582
Richmond, VA 23298-0582

Call: 804-828-0626
Toll-free: 1-866-VCU-BOOK
(1-866-828-2665)
Fax: (804) 828-6089
Send Email
Job Title:
Associate Director, Research and Education
 

Become a Fan!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip