VCU Libraries

Research Guides

UNIV 200: Inquiry and the Craft of Argument

(Previously UNIV 200: Writing and Rhetoric)

Find Resources in your Discipline!

After you've done some general searching from the VCU Libraries homepage, you'll want to look for discipline specific information about your research question.  Exploring the scholarly literature in a particular area of study related to your research questions will allow you to focus your paper.  Once you've determined what discipline(s) your research question is situated in, use this page to find information on a particular discipline  The Best Bets gives a sneak peak of some databases you might consider using fo research for disciplines students often right about in UNIV200.  The Research Guides offer more comprehensive lists of resources organized by discipline that are best suited to get you started with your research in a particular subject area. Added bonus of research guides: each one will direct you to a librarian who specializes in research in that discipline!

Best Bets

Because your research questions fall in many different disciplines in UNIV 200, you will need to use discipline-specific databases.  The databases below provide a good database to start in, depending on what discipline your research question is situated in.

For more databases by discipline, check out Research Guides by Subject.

 Discipline  Database
 American History  America: History and Life
 Arts  Art Full Text
 Business/Economics  Business Source Complete
 Education  Education Research Complete ; ERIC
 Literature  MLA International Bibliography
 Health Sciences  CINAHL Plus with Full Text
 Multidisciplinary  Academic Search Complete ; JSTOR
 Psychology  Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
 PsycINFO
 
 Political Science  PAIS International
 Philosophy  Philosophers Index
 Sciences (General)  General Science Full Text ; Web of Science
 Social Work  Social Services Abstracts
 Sociology  Sociological Abstracts
 Women's Studies  Women's Studies International
 World History  Historical Abstracts
chat loading...