Research Guides: FASH 401- Design II Studio: Tutto Bianco: Home

Tutto Bianco

Tutto Bianco (Everything White in Italian) was a collaboration between multiple VCUarts disciplines
on the use of the color white in art and design.

White Color Research Tips

How to search for information on the use and meaning of the color white

1. Find books about color theory in VCU Libraries Search.
Limit the results to Material Type=Books, Show Only=Access Full Text to find ebooks.
Use the search within results feature with the keyword "white"

2. Use keywords to search for references to the color white in
Google Books and article databases like Art Full Text, Design and Applied Arts and Berg Fashion Library:

Keywords
Color white + discipline (e.g art, design or fashion) OR subject (e.g. meaning, symbolism or history)
Example: Color white in art

Art Full Text (now Art & Architecture Source)
Citations, abstracts, and selected full text for articles from international periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and art dissertations. Also indexes art reproductions from indexed periodicals across styles and art movements.
Now Art & Architecture Source with access to more journals.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
International index to articles in hundreds of design and craft journals. Also contains data on designers, craftspeople, studios, schools, workshops, and firms.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains Berg Fashion Library, which provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary text and image content on world dress and fashion. Includes e-books, reference works, images, and more.

Books on the Color White

Brilliant: white in design
Call Number: NK1548 .O39 2011
Examines the spectrum of colors and talents inherent in white, exploring how it is used, and viewed, in art, design, architecture, and nature.
Color in Art
Call Number: N7432.7 .Z84 2012
This book focuses on the most important colors in art--red, blue, yellow, black, white*, green, and gold--and looks at them through some 200 beautifully printed works.
*Includes a chapter on the color white.
The Secret Lives of Color
Call Number: BF789.C7 S64 2017
Tells the unusual stories of seventy-five fascinating shades, dyes and hues.
Includes a chapter on the color white.
Color : a natural history of the palette
Call Number: ND1488 .F56 2002
Illuminates how the colors we choose to value have determined the history of culture itself.
Includes a chapter on the color white.
The Brilliant History of Color in Art
Call Number: N7432.7 .F56 2014
Uncovers the origins and science of color, and how they forever changed the courses of art and history.
Includes chapters on "Greek white: The myth of the white city" and "Lead white: The enchantress"

FASH 401- Design II Studio: Tutto Bianco

Related Guides

Arts Research Librarian

Color White in Practice

Tutto Bianco

White Color Research Tips

Books on the Color White