Research Guides: Pharmacy Experiential Education: Start Here

Most Used Resources

LexiDrug Online
Lists both prescription and OTC drugs by therapeutic categories with concise information concerning pharmacology, dispensing information, ingredients.

AccessPharmacy
Includes the following pertinent materials for PharmD students:
-Leading pharmacy textbooks, including DiPiro, Pharmacotherapy (even review quiz questions!), and NAPLEX review books
-Flashcards to help you study for top 300 drug exams, pharmacotherapy, pharmacology, and
pharmacy calculations
-Videos and pharmacology lectures
-Drug monographs
-Patient education handouts
NatMed Pro (Formerly Natural Medicines)
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed information on complementary and alternative medicine treatments. Includes interactions and adverse effects as well as evaluation of therapies for specific conditions, herbs and supplements, and diet therapies.
UpToDate
Licensed by the VCU Health System. Point-of-care collection of evidence-based recommendations for the diagnosis and management of medical conditions. Also includes drug information.

Practice Guidelines

EPC Evidence-based Reports
AHRQ's Evidence-based Practice Center's sponsored reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies.
IDSA Practice Guidelines
The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) Practice Guidelines are categorized by Antimicrobial Agent Use, Infections by Organ System, Infections by Organism, and Other Guidelines. Site also includes translations of practice guidelines in languages other than English.
Note: You will need to register for a FREE account.
VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines
Veterans Healthcare Affairs, in collaborations with the Department of Defense (DoD), has been developing clinical practice guidelines since the early 1990s. In 2010 the Institute of Medicine identified VA/DoD as leaders in clinical practice guideline development.

Electronic Textbooks

AccessMedicine

Collection of over 60 medical textbooks from McGraw-Hill, case files, diagnostic tools, self-assessment questions and patient handouts. Textbooks include Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, and Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. [NOTE: Only 5 users at a time can use AccessMedicine]

AccessPharmacy

More than 30 core pharmacy electronic textbooks, drug monographs, calculators, herb& supplement information, and care plans. Includes Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
If you have an My AccessPharmacy account, use the mobile version by going to http://m.accesspharmacy.com

AccessPediatrics

Collection of pediatric and neonatology textbooks, such as Rudolph's Pediatrics. Includes patient education, multimedia, and drug monographs with dosing information for children, neonates, and adults. [Only 5 users at a time can use AccessPediatrics]

STAT!Ref Electronic Medical Library - contains the following five eBooks

AHFS Drug Information
Drug Points System
The Health Professional's Guide to Popular Dietary Supplements
Infectious Diseases: The Clinician's Guide to Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prevention
Merck Manual
Only 5 concurrent users of each resource.

Article Searching

CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source of full-text journals and books indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). Also features evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more.
Cochrane Library
Database of Cochrane Collaboration systematic reviews healthcare evidence. Also includes databases of clinical trials, other systematic reviews, and review methodology.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Abstracts of pharmacology research and information. Includes papers presented at ASHP, APhA, and AACP meetings. Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 1
Medical Letter, The
Searchable database of articles from The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics from 1988 - present. Includes peer-reviewed evaluations of newly approved prescription drugs and comparative reviews of older drugs.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.
Embase (via Ovid)
Biomedicine and pharmacology citation database (1974 - present) with an international scope. Recommended for systematic reviews, and for finding drug and medical device information. Updated weekly. Not compatible with Internet Explorer 8, 9, and 10.

Compounding Resources

International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding
P & T
P & T, or Pharmacy and Therapeutics, is a peer-reviewed journal for formulary management from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
USP-NF: U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention
USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP. Monographs for dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP. Excipient monographs are in the NF.

Merck Index Online
Extensive index of monographs in the chemical, medical, biological, and environmental sciences. Includes information about a wide range of substances, including drugs, biologicals, dyes, agricultural and industrial chemicals, and more.

Trissel's(tm) Stability of Compounded Formulations by Lawrence A. Trissel; Lisa D. Ashworth; Jay Ashworth
Call Number: RS200 .T75 2012
ISBN: 1582122962
Publication Date: 2018-01-31
With the increasing use of compounded prescriptions, practitioners need to answer the question, "What is the stability of this preparation after it is compounded?" Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations is the only book in print that compiles all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations. Based on data published over the past 60 years, the reference summarizes specific formulations and stability studies.