Research Guides: Biomedical Sciences: Microbiology Lab

Microbiology Lab

Popular resources used to search for microbiology protocols:

Springer Protocols
This collection of over 20,000 life sciences and biomedical protocols includes 1700+ microbiology protocols. Because of its size, we recommend searching this collection first for protocols.
Current Protocols in Microbiology
This publication includes protocols for analyzing microorganisms, proteomic and genomic methods, and emerging technologies and concepts like quorum sensing and biofilms.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Searching for specific technologies (CT, x-ray, etc.) may yield useful results.
Not finding what you're looking for?
Try our research guide for experimental protocols

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database that is a good place to search for basic science journal articles. Includes citations for conference proceedings as well.
More...

The following are some microbiology lab videos that you may find helpful. Please note that the resources provided on this page are not a substitute for speaking with a trained scientist on how to properly perform these procedures.

Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization (FISH)
Short video showing the FISH process. See this short animation for a basic overview on how FISH works.
Gel Electrophoresis
This video shows you how to perform gel electrophoresis while offering an explanation of how it works.
Gram stain
How to perform a gram stain.
Using a micropipette
This video offers a basic introduction to using micropipettes. It covers accurate delivery ranges for common micropipettes, as well as when to use the first or second stop positions.
Plating methods (Aseptic technique)
This video demonstrates streak plating, pour plating, spread-plating, soft agar overlay, replica plating, and clean up. The entire video is ~18 minutes long, but it's easy to skip to sections of interest.
Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR)
How to set up, run, and troubleshoot basic PCR reactions. See this animated video for a quick explanation of how PCR works.
Transfection
This animation shows how transfection works. For lab procedures, see BenchFly's siRNA Transfection video and Sigma-Aldrich's RNAi Transfection video.
Vernier callipers
Introduction to the parts of a Vernier calliper and how to use this instrument to measure zones of inhibition (ZOI).
Volume Transfers with Serological Pipettes and Micropipettors (Aseptic Technique)
Minimize contamination when transferring cultures and reagents.

Other lab techniques

FtsZ Polymerization Assays: Simple Protocols and Considerations
Simple protocols for monitoring FtsZ polymerization activity, which is important for bacterial cell division.
Pyrosequencing for Microbial Identification and Characterization
This protocol can be used to "identify bacterial species, discriminate bacterial strains, and detect genetic mutations that confer resistance to anti-microbial agents."

The following are a selection of e-books available through VCU Libraries. Unless otherwise noted, e-books are restricted to 1 user at a time.

Manual of Clinical Microbiology by James H. Jorgensen (Editor); Michael A. Pfaller (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 1555817378
Publication Date: 2015
Manual of Commercial Methods in Clinical Microbiology by Allan L. Truant
ISBN: 1118131126
Publication Date: 2016
Unlimited PDF downloads available.
Flow Cytometry in Microbiology by Martin G. Wilkinson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781910190111
Publication Date: 2015
Bacterial Pangenomics: Methods and Protocols by Alessio Mengoni (Editor); Marco Galardini (Editor); Marco Fondi (Editor)
ISBN: 1493917196
Publication Date: 2014
Unlimited PDF downloads available.
Modern Techniques for Pathogen Detection by Jürgen Popp (Editor); Michael Bauer (Editor)
ISBN: 3527335161
Publication Date: 2015
Unlimited PDF downloads available.
Laboratory Methods in Enzymology: Protein Part A by Jon Lorsch
ISBN: 9780124200975
Publication Date: 2014
Unlimited PDF downloads available.
Practical Medical Microbiology for Clinicians by Frank E. Berkowitz; Robert C. Jerris
ISBN: 9781119066743
Publication Date: 2016

To browse microbiology books available at the Tompkins-McCaw Library, visit the "QR" section on the 2nd floor. The following is a selection of microbiology books that are part of VCU Libraries' physical collection.

Koneman's Color Atlas and Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology by Elmer Koneman; Gary W. Procop
Call Number: QR67 .C64 2017 (Health Sciences Library, General Collection)
ISBN: 9781451116595
Publication Date: 2016
Bailey and Scott's Diagnostic Microbiology by Patricia M. Tille
Call Number: QR67 .B37 2017 (Health Sciences Library, General Collection)
ISBN: 9780323354820
Publication Date: 2017
Medical Microbiology and Immunology for Dentistry by Nejat Düzgünes
Call Number: QR47 .D89 2016 (Health Sciences Library, General Collection)
ISBN: 0867156473
Publication Date: 2016-01-01

Download the Browzine app to your Apple or Android device and easily browse through journal articles. You can also access BrowZine via the web. Your VCU subscription includes BrowZine access to Clinical Microbiology Reviews, Molecular Microbiology, Journal of Oral Microbiology, and more.