Research Guides: Health Sciences Library Virtual Displays: June: Mens Health Awareness

Mens Health Awareness

Welcome to this Health Sciences Library virtual book display.

All of the titles included in this display are available to be checked out or viewed virtually through our collection. Feel free to contact us at askHSL@vcu.edu with any questions and be sure to look at our research guides for more in-depth guides on many other topics.

June is National Men's Health Month! This month is all about encouraging the men in your life (including you, men out there!) to take care of their bodies by eating right, exercising, and working to prevent disease.

Physical Books

Textbook of Men's Mental Health by Jon E. Grant (Editor); Marc N. Potenza (Editor)
Call Number: RC451.4.M45 T49 2007
ISBN: 9781585622153
Publication Date: 2006-09-13
The first of its kind, this book reflects progress in a too-little explored corner of psychiatry to show that gender plays an integral role in mental health issues for men. Textbook of Men's Mental Health provides clinicians with the information they need for understanding how certain disorders manifest differently in men--and for recognizing how treatment responses in men differ from those in women.
Unequal Opportunity by Richard J. Wolitski (Editor); Ron Stall (Editor); Ronald O. Valdiserri (Editor)
Call Number: RA564.9.H65 U94 2008
ISBN: 0195301536
Publication Date: 2007-12-10
This book reviews evidence of health disparities among gay and bisexual men, identifying individual and community factors that have contributed to these disparities, and suggests strategies for public health efforts to eliminate inequality in the future.
Andrology by Eberhard Nieschlag (Editor); Hermann Behre (Editor); S. M. A. Nieschlag (Editor)
Call Number: RC875 .A5413 2001
ISBN: 3540672249
Publication Date: 2000-10-27
Andrology is a decidedly interdisciplinary field in which several specialities participate. Accordingly, this volume is addressed to all concerned with male reproductive health: Andrologists, gynecologists, urologists, internists, endocrinologists, dermatologists, basic researchers. The volume comprises basic science as well as clinical andrology and includes chapters on: Biology of reproduction, testicular function, sperm maturation and fertilization, endocrinology of the male, environmental factors, psychology, senescence, contraception; as well as chapters on the diagnosis and therapy of andrological diseases including: Infertility, hypogonadism, assisted reproduction: ICSI and TESE, therapy with testosterone, erectile dysfunction.
Gender Inequalities in Health by Ellen Annandale; Kate Hunt
Call Number: RA564.85 .G4653 2000
ISBN: 0335203655
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This state-of-the-art collection reflects critically upon the current status of our knowledge about gender inequalities in health and develops an agenda for future research. Leading experts address a range of themes that are central to the development of the field.

e-Books

Integrative Men's Health by Myles D. Spar (Editor); George E. Munoz (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199843800
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
As a field, men's health is far behind women's health in terms of the availability of reliable, scientifically based information that men, their partners, and health care providers can rely on when seeking information and treatment. Moreover, integrative approaches are becoming more popular with men whose healthcare providers understand that most of the leading causes of morbidity and mortality in men, including cardiovascular disease, cancer, urologic disease, and sexual dysfunction, can be ameliorated using an integrative approach, with more emphasis on the patient-provider relationship, lifestyle change, and the use of proven complementary modalities.
The Encyclopedia of Men's Health by Glenn S. Rothfeld; Deborah S. Romaine
ISBN: 9780816066407
More than 600 A-to-Z entries cover issues related to menOCOs physical and mental health and well-being, including physiology, life span, diseases and conditions (including treatment protocols, procedures, and surgeries), genetics, medications, vitamins and supplements, psychology, sports medicine, sexual health, relationships, menOCOs fertility, fatherhood, and more.
Men's Health and Wellbeing by Sanchia S. Goonewardene (Editor); Oliver Brunckhorst (Editor); David Albala (Editor); Kamran Ahmed (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030847517
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
This book provides a concise overview of the latest controversies and advances in men's health. It covers the male anatomy, physiology, and the metabolic syndromes that most commonly affect males. A range of benign and malignant conditions affecting the prostate, testes, rectum and colon are detailed. Chapters feature an easy-to-follow format and feature learning objectives to highlight the key concepts in each chapter aiding the reader to develop a thorough understanding of fundamental aspects in men's health. Men's Health and Wellbeing features insightful reviews of controversies and recent developments in men's health, and is a valuable resource for all trainee and practicing medical professionals who treat these patients.
Black Men's Health by Yarneccia D. Dyson (Editor); Vanessa Robinson-Dooley (Editor); Jerry Watson (Editor)
ISBN: 9783031049934
Publication Date: 2022-07-06
Now more than ever there is a need to focus on Black men's health in higher education and ensure that future practitioners are trained to ethically and culturally serve this historically oppressed community. This textbook provides practical insight and knowledge that prepare students to work with Black men and their families from a strengths-based and social justice lens.

Media

Ask Us

Online help is available!

Chat with us during special chat service hours

Text us: (804) 435-5420 during special text service hours
Use the Ask Us form or email library@vcu.edu
Call us toll-free: (844) 352-7399

One-on-one help

Our librarians work as liaisons in specific units - schools, departments, colleges, centers and programs. These subject-matter experts provide many services online, including instruction, in-depth research assistance and collection development support.

Health Sciences Library Virtual Displays

Mens Health Awareness

Links

Physical Books

e-Books

Media

Ask Us