Health Sciences Library Virtual Displays

Over three editions the Handbook of Diabetes has built a reputation as an essential practical manual on the assessment and management of patients with diabetes. Previously written by Gareth Williams and John Pickup, the book has been completely revised by Rudy Bilous and Richard Donnelly to reflect recent changes in diabetes treatment and care. It contains information on the new IFCC units for measuring blood glucose and the latest drugs being used to combat diabetes, as well as alternative methods of insulin delivery. The book has been fully updated and redesigned to make it even more user-friendly, and contains case histories, practice points, and landmark clinical trials highlighted in color in each chapter where appropriate. It also features an entirely new set of 250 clinical photographs. The Handbook of Diabetes is the ideal practical handbook for all health professionals with an interest in diabetes care.

Virtually all patients with diabetes (type 1 or type 2) can improve their glycemic control and overall health through intensive diabetes management. With emphasis on the team approach, Intensive Diabetes Management offers the information you need to help each patient move toward treatment goals appropriate for their individual skills and medical condition. For clinicians striving to deliver diabetes therapy for the 21st century, this is the essential guide.

In this fifth edition...the authors and their stellar cast of contributing authors bring us to the present state of the science and art in diabetes...including today's exciting research and a glimpse into the ever-evolving future. from the Foreword by Jane K. Kadohiro, DrPH, APRN, CDE President, American Association of Diabetes Educators This updated and revised fifth edition reflects the continuing progress in our understanding of diabetes and its care. Evidence of the importance of prevention measures, improvements in medication, early detection, and treatment of complications have evolved in the past few years, and this new edition addresses these changes. The book continues to provide nurses and other health professionals with the basics, including physiology, diagnosis, insulin and diet management, acute care, exercise, and life style issues. It includes complete guidelines on developing an education program, with a suggested course outline.

Highly Commended in the 2004 BMA Medical Book Competition (Endocrinology) Judges' summary: "Beautifully and clearly written to appeal to all levels of healthcare professional knowledge. A wealth of practical experience is freely donated to the reader in a friendly and accessible way. Each section is easily found and any member of the team could care for a patient with that particular problem to a high standard with this book in their hand. I would unhesitatingly recommend to all diabetes doctors - both senior and junior, and every diabetes unit should have a copy. This new edition is excellent and should be considered for an award." Diabetes and its Management, Sixth Edition, continues to provide a practical clinical guide to the management of patients with diabetes. The author team has been expanded and now also includes a Nurse Practitioner specialising in diabetes to provide the nursing perspective. It is a concise manual that distils the essential recent developments into practical advice.

Diabetes is a growing global epidemic projected to affect about 200 million people within 15 years. It is already a leading cause of kidney failure, blindness, and amputations, making prevention of both the disease and its complications urgent. Advances in understanding its causes have raised hope for prevention, leading to several major international research initiatives. This book, written by leading scientists, presents a comprehensive overview of the latest scientific progress supporting these efforts and serves as a valuable reference for clinicians and researchers in the field.

The book explains the underlying pathophysiology of the disease and covers in detail all its main forms and complications. Separate chapters consider the range of treatment options, together with summaries of key clinical trials. Coverage also includes epidemiology and classification, as well as diagnosis, screening, limiting risk, and other aspect

This book covers the classical type 1 and type 2 diabetes, diabetes of childhood, diabetes of pregnancy, modern insulin procedures, and suggested diets through practical examples, FAQs, videos, and illustrations. Diabetes is a chronic disease, affecting over 300 million people worldwide, in which there are high levels of sugar in the blood, often caused by too little insulin, resistance to insulin, or both. This book translates medical language into readable FAQs that can easily be understood by the lay person. It covers the classical type 1 and type 2 diabetes, diabetes of childhood, diabetes of pregnancy, modern insulin procedures, and suggested diets through practical examples, FAQs, videos, and illustrations.

Who Gets Diabetes and Why? by historian Arleen Tuchman explores how ideas about diabetes have reflected broader beliefs about race, class, and heredity in the United States since the late nineteenth century. Tuchman shows how different groups such as Jews, middle class whites, American Indians, African Americans, and Hispanic Americans have each been labeled “most at risk” at various times, revealing biases in both public and medical thinking. Over the decades, diabetes shifted in the public imagination from a disease of wealth and civilization to one of poverty and primitiveness. By tracing these changing views, Tuchman shows how medical understandings of diabetes mirror the social and cultural assumptions of their time.