Health Sciences Library Virtual Displays

The first of its kind, this book reflects progress in a too-little explored corner of psychiatry to show that gender plays an integral role in mental health issues for men. Textbook of Men's Mental Health provides clinicians with the information they need for understanding how certain disorders manifest differently in men--and for recognizing how treatment responses in men differ from those in women. Multidisciplinary coverage in this groundbreaking guide draws from fields such as public health and substance abuse to create a well-rounded approach to addressing men's specific mental health problems.

This book reviews evidence of health disparities among gay and bisexual men, identifying individual and community factors that have contributed to these disparities, and suggests strategies for public health efforts to eliminate inequality in the future.

Andrology is a decidedly interdisciplinary field in which several specialities participate. Accordingly, this volume is addressed to all concerned with male reproductive health: Andrologists, gynecologists, urologists, internists, endocrinologists, dermatologists, basic researchers. The volume comprises basic science as well as clinical andrology and includes chapters on: Biology of reproduction, testicular function, sperm maturation and fertilization, endocrinology of the male, environmental factors, psychology, senescence, contraception; as well as chapters on the diagnosis and therapy of andrological diseases including: Infertility, hypogonadism, assisted reproduction: ICSI and TESE, therapy with testosterone, erectile dysfunction.

This state-of-the-art collection reflects critically upon the current status of our knowledge about gender inequalities in health and develops an agenda for future research. Leading experts address a range of themes that are central to the development of the field. These include recent theoretical and methodological developments in sociology and social policy, and the significance of changes in gender relations following wide-scale economic and social changes with respect to the mental and physical health status of men and women. The collection focuses upon gender and health within industrialized nations including Britain, North America, Western and Eastern Europe.

As a field, men's health is far behind women's health in terms of the availability of reliable, scientifically based information that men, their partners, and health care providers can rely on when seeking information and treatment. Moreover, integrative approaches are becoming more popular with men whose healthcare providers understand that most of the leading causes of morbidity and mortality in men, including cardiovascular disease, cancer, urologic disease, and sexual dysfunction, can be ameliorated using an integrative approach, with more emphasis on the patient-provider relationship, lifestyle change, and the use of proven complementary modalities.

More than 600 A-to-Z entries cover issues related to menOCOs physical and mental health and well-being, including physiology, life span, diseases and conditions (including treatment protocols, procedures, and surgeries), genetics, medications, vitamins and supplements, psychology, sports medicine, sexual health, relationships, menOCOs fertility, fatherhood, and more. Allopathic, complementary, and integrative approaches to menOCOs health are also discussed. An extensive bibliography, a directory of leading menOCOs health research centers and organizations, and a glossary of key terms round out this comprehensive reference."

This book provides a concise overview of the latest controversies and advances in men's health.  It covers the male anatomy, physiology, and the metabolic syndromes that most commonly affect males. A range of benign and malignant conditions affecting the prostate, testes, rectum and colon are detailed. Chapters feature an easy-to-follow format and feature learning objectives to highlight the key concepts in each chapter aiding the reader to develop a thorough understanding of fundamental aspects in men's health. Men's Health and Wellbeing features insightful reviews of controversies and recent developments in men's health, and is a valuable resource for all trainee and practicing medical professionals who treat these patients.

Now more than ever there is a need to focus on Black men's health in higher education and ensure that future practitioners are trained to ethically and culturally serve this historically oppressed community. This textbook provides practical insight and knowledge that prepare students to work with Black men and their families from a strengths-based and social justice lens.  There is a dearth in the literature that discusses the prioritization of Black men's health within the context of how they are viewed by societal approaches to engage them in research, and health programming aimed at increasing their participation in health services to decrease their morbidity and mortality rates. Much of the extant literature is over 10 years old and doesn't account for social determinants of health, perceptions of health status, as well as social justice implications that can affect the health outcomes of this historically oppressed population including structural and systemic racism as well as police brutality and gun violence.