Research Guides: MASC 303: Intro to Reporting: News Articles

News Databases

Access World News
Also known as NewsBank, provides access to major national and international newspapers, local and regional titles, blogs, and more. Historical and current content, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch archive from 1903 to present.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text for major national and international newspapers, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Times (London). Also includes full-text radio and television news transcripts.
Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full-text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Includes national, international, and regional newspapers, both current content and archives, periodicals, podcasts, newswires, and more.
Latin American Newspapers Series I & II
Digitized Central and South American newspapers published from 1805 to 1922 in Spanish, Portuguese, and English, chronicling the evolution of Latin America through eyewitness reports, editorials, legislative information, advertisements, and more.
iPOLL (Roper Center)
Extensive archive of public opinion information with questions and answers from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations such as Gallup, CNN, Pew Research Associates, the Wall Street Journal, and others.

New York Times Academic
Register for an account for current access to nytimes.com. Users must be connected to the RamsVPN for remote access. Install the VPN here: https://ts.vcu.edu/askit/network-services/rams-vpn/
Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Times with Index
Full image of articles published in The New York Times including illustrations and advertisements. Covers from the first issue in 1851 to three years prior to the current year.
FBIS
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts & news that provides insight into the 2nd half of the 20th century (1941-1996). Many are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

Mixed News and Articles

In these databases, you will find news articles, magazine articles, and academic articles.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, native and minority press.
GenderWatch
Full-text publications and archives covering the impact and evolution of gender and gender roles across a broad spectrum of subject areas, taking an interdisciplinary approach to family studies, LGBTQIA+ studies, and women's studies.

Getting Individual Access

Full text access is available to the Washington Post and New York Times through their online websites, the Databases A-Z list, or through their item records in VCU Libraries Search (Washington Post | New York Times). Access is handled differently for each paper:

Washington Post: When connected to the campus network, you can go directly to washingtonpost.com and receive full content access without having to log in. However, to save articles, subscribe to newsletters, use the app, or to access articles when off the campus network, you can create a Washington Post account with your VCU email to activate individual access.
New York Times: Users can activate their free NYT Academic Pass account by going to accessnyt.com when connected to the campus network. Once activated, the academic pass is valid through the student’s year of graduation; faculty and staff passes are valid for four years, and can be renewed.