Tests, Surveys, and Measures

From UCLA, full text assessment instruments used for behavioral research projects in multiple domains including HIV knowledge, mental health, quality of life, etc..

The EOD instrument is designed to measure self-reported experiences of racial discrimination. The instrument is available free of charge from the Harvard School of Public Health, but to gain access you need to register.

The IBR provides access to a wide array of data collection instruments developed for drug abuse treatment and outcome assessments. PDF Files can be downloaded free of charge.

This is an alphabetical list of over 250 scales that make up the IPPI Pool developed and maintained by Lew Goldberg. The scales are designed as analogs to commercial versions ( NEO PI-R, NEO-FFI scales) and are all in the public domain.

Includes hundreds of measures of child well-being; sponsored by the Annie B Casey Foundation

Click “Scales” on the left menu bar to download the Perceived Stress Scale (PSS) the Interpersonal Support Evaluation List (ISEL)& the Social Network Index. Permission for use of scales is not necessary when use is for academic research or educational purpose.

Includes more than 20 psychometrically sound scales measuring victimization from (and perpetration of) physical, sexual, psychological/emotional abuse, and stalking. Full text can be downloaded free of charge.

This page, maintained by Ron Okada, Emeritus Professor of Psychology, York University. provides easy access to many psychological tests. Test authors have given permission to have these copyrighted tests downloaded and used by student researchers free of charge.

This site, maintained by Charles Carver, Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Miami, includes self-report instruments measuring various aspects of attachment, coping, optimism, relationship satisfaction and social support. All are freely available for use in research and teaching applications.

The (BFI) is a short, self-report multidimensional personality inventory. It is copyrighted by Oliver John, Director of the Berkeley Personality Lab, but is freely available for researchers to use for non-commercial research purposes.

The Rosenberg Self-Esteem Scale, one of the most widely-used self-esteem measures in social science research, is available free of change and may be used without explicit permission in educational and professional research as long as it is properly cited. Made available via the Morris Rosenberg Foundation at the University of Maryland.