Research Guides: Government Information: Virginia

Searching State Documents

Library of Virginia
The Library of Virginia houses most comprehensive collection of Virginia state publications in the area and is located about a mile from Cabell Library at 800 E. Broad Street. The staff welcomes visitors to the Library. If you plan to visit, you may want to search the LVA Catalog first.
Virginia State Documents
Virginia State Documents is a list of publications currently in print and available to the public from agencies of the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is compiled from reports submitted to the Library of Virginia by agencies, departments, divisions, and institutions or branches of the state government.

Additional Resources

Virginia.gov
The Official Web Site of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The site includes a comprehensive list of state agency Web sites called Commonwealth A-Z.
Virginia Legislative Assembly Legislative Information Systm
Documents published by the General Assembly, including bills, reports, court rules, and the Code of Virginia. Contains material from 1994 to present.
Legislative History in Virginia
A research guide from the Library of Virginia. VCU Libraries has most of the materials mentioned in this guide, so check the VCU Libraries Catalog for availability and location.
Municode.com
Municipal Code Corporation (MCC) has more than 50 years experience publishing Codes of Ordinances, Land Use Codes and Charters for local governments. This includes original codification, recodifications, republications and updating. Contained on this Web site are Codes for more than 1,600 local governments in searchable online databases. MCC is a private sector host for City/County ordinances.
ConnectRichmond
Provides information, resources, and instant access to nonprofits, civic leaders, volunteers and others interested in improving Metro Richmond. The site contains community reports, data, demographics, education, healthcare, and other issues in Metro Richmond.

About the Virginia Documents Collection

VCU Libraries provides access to publications produced by Virginia state government agencies, boards, commissions and other government entities. Most Virginia documents are integrated into the general circulating collections at both James Branch Cabell Library and Tompkins-McCaw Library. Others are housed in the reference collection or Special Collections and Archives. Currently, a small number of older state government publications can be found on the first floor of Cabell Library, and in the basement of Tompkins-McCaw Library.

VCU Libraries also provides access to selected municipal documents from Virginia localities, including the City of Richmond and the counties of Chesterfield and Henrico. These are integrated into the general collection, although a few remain in the Municipal Documents section on aisle 46 on the first floor of Cabell Library.