Research Guides: PHAR 509: Drug Information/Introduction to Pharmacy: Drug Information Resources

Resources for Providers and Patients

AccessPharmacy
AccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.

AHFS Drug Information
Full-text of the American Hospital Formulary Service® handbook of evidence-based drug information. In-depth drug information addressing pharmacology and use of drugs. Some information about compatibility and stability of injectable formulations.
NOTE: This STAT!Ref book allows only five (5) concurrent users per title.
Available in print: Health Sciences Library RS125 .A56
DailyMed
Operated by the National Library of Medicine, search DailyMed for current FDA drug labels.
DrugPoints System
Reference book that provides summary drug information on dosing, drug interactions, adverse effects, indications, pregnancy warnings, therapeutic uses, and brand names.
NOTE: This STAT!Ref book allows only five (5) concurrent users per title.
Lexicomp Online
Lists both prescription and OTC drugs by therapeutic categories with concise information concerning pharmacology, dispensing information, ingredients.
Available online on the VCU School of Pharmacy website; see the Resources menu
For the Lexicomp Mobile App (for PharmD students only), submit a KBOX request
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, this easy-to-use site provides information that consumers should be able to understand. It provides information about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. It additionally includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
WebMD: Drugs & Medications A-Z
The Drugs & Medications Center allows users to browse or search drugs, check for drug interactions, search a pill identifier tool, and so much more.

For groups with injectable drugs

Groups with injectable drugs should also visit and evaluate the following resource. The 2009 edition is available electronically and the 2017 edition is available on the shelf in the Health Sciences Library.

Handbook on Injectable Drugs by Lawrence A. Trissel.
Publication Date: 2009 Edition
NOTE: Each R2 Digital Library book can only be accessed by one (1) user at a time.

Additional Drug Information Resources

Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs
Available in hard copy ONLY in the Health Sciences Library -- Call Number: RM671.A1 H236
Remington, the Science and Practice of Pharmacy
An encyclopedia of pharmacy with information on pharmacology of drugs, theoretical science, sterilization, isotonicity, health-care products, practical pharmacy practice, etc.;
Available in hard copy ONLY in the Health Sciences Library -- Call Number: RS91 .R45

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference by Brayfield, Alison
Call Number: RS141.3 .M3 2017
ISBN: 9780857113092
Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference provides unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines in use around the world. It is prepared by an experienced team of pharmacists and life scientists who use their professional expertise to select the most clinically relevant and appropriate information from reliable published sources, to provide an unbiased and evaluated digest of the literature.
Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy 2017 by David Gilbert, M.D., George Eliopoulos, M.D., Henry Chambers, M.D., Michael Saag, M.D., Andrew Pavia, M.D.
ISBN: 9781944272036
Publication Date: 2017
Popular with physicians, pharmacists, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and other clinicians, the Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy provides information that is convenient, concise, and reliable.
Harriet Lane Handbook by Veronica L. Gunn; Christian Nechyloa; Harriet Lane Service Staff (Contribution by); Johns Hopkins Hospital Staff
Call Number: RJ48 .H37 2002
ISBN: 0323014860
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
For more than 50 years, The Harriet Lane Handbook has been the pediatrician's reference of choice in hospitals nationwide-and for good reason. Its unsurpassed diagnostic and management guidance, recommended tests, complete therapeutic information, and a comprehensive drug formulary make it essential for anyone who treats children. Now, the 16th Edition is completely revised and updated to provide the latest treatments, guidelines, and management recommendations. Also available as PDA Handheld Software for Palm OS or Windows CE/ Pocket PC devices! Organizes a wealth of information into a convenient, pocket-sized, outline format. Focuses on the safety and efficacy of drugs in children. Covers FDA Pregnancy Category notations and information on the effects of drugs in breast milk. Includes step-by-step emergency management protocols, growth charts, and more. 27 additional contributing experts. 14th Edition also available in Spanish, ISBN: 84-8174-274-0
Pediatric and Neonatal Dosage Handbook by Carol K. Taketomo
Call Number: RJ560 .T13 2015
ISBN: 9781591953494
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
This handbook includes more than 990 drug monographs offering concise fields of information specific to neonates and children. It follows a convenient, dictionary-like format, with drug products alphabetically organized and cross-referenced by brand names and index terms. Also available through Lexicomp.