Research Guides: Patient Counseling: Research Focused Resources

Search VCU Libraries

Article Databases

In addition to the Best Bets on the home page of this guide, we also have a wide range of databases which will be useful to you. We've listed few of them here. If you need help finding something which isn't listed below, please contact us.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text access for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and periodicals, among other materials. Covers science, social sciences, mathematics, engineering, and many other subjects.
Alt HealthWatch
Full-text articles on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Book excerpts are also included.
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine
Bibliographic database that covers complementary medicine, palliative care, and professions allied to medicine such as physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, and more.
APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Provides bibliographic records to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religious and theological studies, with access to full-text articles and book reviews in the AtlaSerials full-text journal collections.
CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source of full-text journals and books indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). Also features evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Rich collection of video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, and psychiatric counseling. Features therapy sessions, case consultations, lectures, and interviews, as well as teaching and discussion guides.
JSTOR
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end typically 3 - 6 years prior to the current date).
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Indexing, abstracts, and full text providing comprehensive coverage of topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Social Work Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 8
Social Work Online
Combines video (documentaries and client demonstrations) with relevant text. Covers children and families, diversity, older adults, substance abuse, criminal justice, mental health, health care, poverty, crisis and trauma, social welfare, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion, and social work, among many other subject areas.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Full-text journals covering central topics in theology and philosophy research, including world religions, denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and history of philosophy.
SAGE Research Methods
Research methods tool providing access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, datasets, and videos about research methods, designing research projects, conducting research, writing up findings, and more.
Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.

Literature Review Writing Aid

How to Conduct a Literature Review (Health Sciences)
Research guide on the types of literature reviews, steps in writing one, and reference management software.

Funding Agencies in Religious and Health, Spirituality, and Chaplaincy

Arthur Vining Davis Foundation (AVDF)
An "organization with national reach and impact that would strengthen America in perpetuity through philanthropy to 'religious, charitable, scientific, literary and educational purposes within the United States and its territories.'"
Jesse Ball duPont Foundation
The Fund organizes its resources around the following focus areas: Strengthening the Independent Sector; Building the Assets of People, Families and Communities; Building the Capacity of Eligible Organizations.
John Templeton Foundation
"Serves as a philanthropic catalyst for discoveries relating to the Big Questions of human purpose and ultimate reality."
Lilly Foundation
A private, philanthropic foundation dedicated to supporting the causes of religion, education, and community development.
Grants.gov
An encompassing site for grants available through federal agencies. You can search by type of funding, agency, or eligible entity.
CITI - Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative

Research Support

Websites

Publications

Carr, JC. (2015) The evolution of research paradigms in pastoral/spiritual care, counseling, and education J Past Care Counseling 69(4): 232-239.
Ehman, J. (2003). Introducing students to pastoral care research: Thoughts on discussing epistemological questions. Fall 2003 Newsletter, Fall 2003 ACPE Research Network Newsletter
Review VCU Scholars Compass College of Health Professions page to find publications from faculty and scholars.