Image Resources in Special Collections and Archives
There are a number of different types of image resources housed in Special Collections and Archives and include black and white photographs, vintage postcard views, color slides from the 1960s to the 1980s, digital images, and published and unpublished sources. Several of these collections are now part of the VCU Libraries Digital Collections site and can be accessed below. For other online resources of images check this Research Guide's Websites
The VCU Photograph
Collection includes thousands of photographs of buildings, events,
individuals of the Monroe Park Campus (1920s-) including hundreds of off campus
images of Richmond. There is a collection of Richmond and
Virginia maps and
prints dating from the mid-19th century through today. The department also houses a number of
published works that feature historical images of Richmond.
Old City Hall, Richmond, Virginia, postmarked 1909.
Stubbins Collection of Postcards of U.S.MunicipalBuildings
(Court Houses and City Halls) - A recent donation of over 2,000 postcards, the bulk of which dates from 1900 to the 1920s, showing examples of municipal buildings from across the United States.
Jackson Ward Historic District Collection.
This site is part of VCU Libraries' Digital Collection. It presents a
series of photographs documenting Richmond's historic Jackson Ward
neighborhood used for the book _The Jackson Ward Historic District_,
published in 1978.
Richmond Commission of Architectural Review Slide Collection. The collection contains more than 7,000 color images of the city of
Richmond. Taken over a period from 1965 to 2000, these images document
many of the changes within the city. In some cases the images serve as a
record for properties which have since been either renovated or
demolished. Images range from close-ups of architectural details and
shots of single buildings to photos of entire city blocks and aerial