Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RD539.8 .S73 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-19
Since 2002, The Breast Reconstruction Guidebook has been the best resource on this topic for women who have had a mastectomy. Equal parts science and support, it is filled with stories that illustrate the emotional and physical components of breast reconstruction. Kathy Steligo, a gifted writer and breast cancer survivor who has twice had breast reconstruction, compassionately answers women's questions about how they will respond emotionally and physically to losing a breast, whether to treat or prevent breast cancer. Steligo provides detailed descriptions of the various surgical options for mastectomy and reconstruction, as well as information on choosing and paying for a surgeon, preparing for and recovering from surgery, and handling the many practical details and difficult decisions women will face along the way. A road map of the mastectomy and reconstruction journey, this book gives women the comprehensive, unbiased details they need to make their own informed decisions about whether reconstruction--and which reconstructive option--is right for them. Readers learn how breasts can be recreated using implants or their own tissue and the advantages and disadvantages of each option. Surgery timelines, recovery, and potential problems (and how they can be resolved) are also explained. A new foreword by Dr. Minas Chrysopoulo, MD, of the PRMA Plastic Surgery Center for Advanced Breast Reconstruction, highlights the book's strengths and offers a medical perspective on breast cancer and reconstructive surgery. The extensively updated text includes new discussions of * innovative reconstructive procedures * contralateral mastectomy * the benefits and limitations of nipple- and areola-sparing mastectomies * nipple delay procedure * patient-controlled tissue expansion * cohesive gel silicone implants * microsurgical advances that improve tissue flap procedures * fat grafting * nipple reconstruction * nipple and areola tattooing * reconstruction with the BRAVA system * pregnancy after TRAM * male mastectomy and reconstruction * decision making and solving cosmetic and medical post-op problems * surgical procedures that reduce the risk of cancer * the latest research data on mastectomy and reconstruction * and much more
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RG525 .D645 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Healthy Mom, Healthy Baby is the ultimate pregnancy guide. Authors Siobhan Dolan, M.D., and Alice Lesch Kelly offer clear, friendly, authoritative, and essential advice, based on the latest research and findings, empowering mothers-to-be and new moms with more information and positive steps than have even been available before to ensure both a healthy pregnancy and a healthy, happy newborn. Supported and sponsored by the March of Dimes--one of America's largest, most widely recognized non-profit organizations and the country's #1 most trusted source of health information for parents, according to a 2011 Gallup Poll--Healthy Mom, Healthy Baby is a must-read for all mothers-to-be.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection (RG525 .S39765 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
From "the man who remade motherhood" (Time) comes the definitive guide to having a healthy pregnancy--and a healthy baby. THE HEALTHY PREGNANCY BOOK guides expectant mothers and fathers through all stages of pregnancy from preconception through birth, focusing on how to enhance the health of mother and baby. In this uniquely authoritative and comprehensive month-by-month guide, the Searses address emotional and physical changes that take place during pregnancy, baby's brain development, healthy pregnancy habits, pregnancy superfoods, optimal weight gain, fitness, managing stress, sleep, choosing the right healthcare provider, birthing choices, the transition into parenthood, engaging personal stories, and more. Overflowing with the most up-to-date information, digestible and doable tips, and advice for every worry--and written in the Searses' trademark reassuring tone that makes their books long-term bestsellers--THE HEALTHY PREGNANCY BOOK is the must-have resource to fit the greater demands of today's savvy parents.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RG186 .M4847 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Confront menopause symptoms such as weight gain, mood swings, and low sex drive with clear advice from a trusted source. Mayo Clinic The Menopause Solution is the definitive guide to making your life change a positive one. Drawing on the latest information, leading women's health expert Dr. Stephanie Faubion covers common questions, lifestyle strategies, and treatment options. Unlike other books, Mayo Clinic The Menopause Solution is comprehensive, easy to navigate, and authoritative. Features include: A complete look at what happens to your body before, during, and after menopause. Up-to-date information on over-the-counter medications, nutritional supplements, and hormone therapy Sidebars, lists, and summaries to make finding information a cinch Dr. Faubion knows that what works for one woman doesn't necessarily work for another. In approachable terms, she presents a balanced, unbiased overview of what to expect in midlife and beyond. You'll find accurate information on perimenopause, premature menopause, menopause symptoms, long-term effects of estrogen loss, and a wide variety of therapies to enhance health. Professional, accessible, and essential for any woman entering menopause, Mayo Clinic The Menopause Solution offers everything you need to take charge of your own health and get the best care from your doctor.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RG525 .S583 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Available for the first time in full color, the up-to-date and authoritative pregnancy guide that has sold 1.5 million copies--by recognizing that "one size fits all" doesn't apply to maternity care Parents love this book because it puts them in control; experts love it because it's based on the latest medical research and recommendations from leading health organizations. Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn provides the information and guidance you need to make informed decisions about having a safe and satisfying pregnancy, birth, and postpartum period--decisions that reflect your preferences, priorities, and values. Unlike pregnancy guides that can overwhelm and alarm by telling you up front all the things that can possibly go wrong, this book first describes normal, healthy processes, their typical variations, and the usual care practices for monitoring them. Only then does it cover possible complications and the care practices and procedures for resolving them. Throughout, the presentation is crystal-clear, the tone is reassuring, and the voice is empowering. And the language is inclusive, reflecting today's various family configurations such as single-parent families, blended families formed by second marriages, families with gay and lesbian parents, and families formed by open adoption or surrogacy. From sensible nutrition advice to realistic birth plans, from birth doulas when desired to cesareans when needed, from reducing stress during pregnancy to caring for yourself as well as your baby after birth, this pregnancy guide speaks to today's parents-to-be like no other.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RG525 .M87 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
A completely revised and updated edition of America's pregnancy bible, the longest-running New York Times bestseller ever. With 18.5 million copies in print, What to Expect When You're Expecting is read by 93% of women who read a pregnancy book and was named one of the "Most Influential Books of the Last 25 Years" by USA Today. This cover-to-cover (including the cover!) new edition is filled with must-have information, advice, insight, and tips for a new generation of moms and dads.
Google Books provides full-text access to many books in the public domain or out of copyright, and partial access to others.