Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC660 .S34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
Living with diabetes is complicated and challenging. In addition to a multitude of daily tasks and decisions, managing diabetes requires appropriate support from those surrounding the person with diabetes: partners, family members, friends, co-workers, and caregivers. Most aspects of diabetes care/treatment focus on the patient. There are dozens of books and online resources designed specifically for the person with diabetes, but very few that address the needs and interests of their support network. This leaves the vast majority of caregivers in a quandary regarding their role. Many are under-educated on diabetes and its management, and most are unsure of where their involvement begins and ends. Diabetes: How to Help is intended to fill the void that currently exists in the publishing marketplace. It will address both knowledge deficits and emotional needs of the caregiver community.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC660.4 .W45 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Improve your health and quality of life with expert advice and strategies to outsmart diabetes. Filled with practical tips and support to help you deal with the stress and lifestyle changes that come with living with diabetes each day, Diabetes: 365 Tips for Living Well offers reliable, easy to implement ways to face challenges, restore health, and live your life to the fullest with diabetes. Written by Susan Weiner, the 2015 AADE Diabetes Educator of the Year, and Paula Ford-Martin, an award-winning health writer, this empowering guide is packed with information to help you: Keep your blood sugar in check Make daily management easier Beat diabetes burnout and relieve stress Deal with holidays, special occasions, and common seasonal challenges with confidence Avoid complications And much more.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC661.I63 K38 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-21
Being diagnosed with diabetes, no longer means giving up an active life. New technology, such as insulin pumps and continuous glucose monitors, can help people with both type 1 and type 2 diabetes stay active and flexible and maintain healthy attitudes and lifestyles. Designed to mimic the action of the pancreas, insulin pumps are small, pager-sized devices that infuse insulin under the skin based on programmed rates. Not only does this eliminate the need for injections, it also allows for small amounts of insulin to to be released throughout the day, and large amounts to be administered at meals based on what's being eaten. When paired with a continuous glucose monitor, which provides a continuous readout of glucose levels, users can enjoy accurate, tight glucose control that provides much greater flexibility and freedom than the old check-and-inject method. Dr. Francine Kaufman'sInsulin Pumps and Continuous Glucose Monitoring explains the advances in glucose management, and thoroughly discusses the technology, as well as the physical and psychological aspects of diabetes care. It provides a comprehensive medical approach toward diabetes management and pump therapy with an appreciation of the real-life challenges and frustrations faced every day by people with diabetes.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC660 .J536 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-20
Living with diabetes is a balancing act of monitoring blood glucose, food intake, and medication. It makes sense that individuals who have diabetes do best when they understand their condition and how to control it. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Diabetes is a comprehensive and easy-to-read guide to this complex condition, answering questions such as: What are the differences between Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes? How are the different forms of this disease treated? Can gestational diabetes become a permanent condition? Can diabetes ever be managed successfully with diet and exercise alone? The second edition of this valued resource includes up-to-date information on* How diabetes is diagnosed* The two types of diabetes* The role of genetics * Improvements in blood glucose measurement* Good nutrition and regular exercise* Insulin and non-insulin medications* Insulin pumps* The emotional side of diabetes* How families are affected and how they can help* What to do if diabetes affects your work* Complications from head to toe Written by a team of Johns Hopkins diabetes specialists, this authoritative guide will help people who have diabetes work effectively with their care team to control their diabetes and maintain good health.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC660.4 .W65 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Type 1 Diabetes Self-Care Manual: A Complete Guide to Type 1 Diabetes Across the Lifespan for People with Diabetes, Parents, and Caregivers offers practical, evidence-based and common sense help for people with type 1 diabetes and their caregivers. For the close to 1.5 million people with type 1 diabetes in the United States alone and their family and friends, this book will help them understand the effects of type 1 diabetes, not just when diagnosed, but throughout their lifespan.Dr. Jamie Wood and Dr. Anne Peters, two of the most respected and sought-after endocrinologists, provide an easy-to-follow narrative on all aspects of the disease. The Type 1 Diabetes Self-Care Manual will be the go-to reference for everyone touched by type 1 diabetes.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC662 .D546 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Delicious meals in minutes the whole family will enjoy. Eat right for diabetes and get dinner on the table fast with this photo-filled collection of easy, everyday meals from Diabetic Living-the only lifestyle magazine for individuals living with diabetes. These fast-fix recipes-low in fat, carb-smart, and made with nutrient-rich ingredients-make it easy to put healthy meals on the table every night of the week. Enjoy mouthwatering main dishes, such as Pesto Turkey Burgers, Mediterranean Tostadas, and Pork Chops Primavera. You'll find the most current information on the best foods to choose in an eating plan and lots of timesaving tips for making healthy meals in a snap. Includes 120 fresh and tasty recipes with a color photo of every recipe Every recipe for breakfast, sandwiches, soups and stews, entrees, salads, and sides is ready in 30 minutes or less.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC662 W354 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-11
While fancy and sophisticated foods continue to grow in popularity, ask most people what their favorite foods are and the answer will invariably be classic comfort foods: lasagna, meat loaf, mac and cheese, and cake. Unfortunately, most people think that having diabetes means the days of enjoying these hearty classics are long gone, and that their favorite foods are a thing of the past. Author Robyn Webb shows that healthy eating doesn't have to mean giving up on favorite foods! Diabetes can be overwhelming, but it doesn't mean reinventing the wheel when it comes to cooking. Just a tweak here and there and familiar foods can remain favorites, guilt-free, and enjoyed every day. The American Diabetes Association Diabetes Comfort Food Cookbookcreates a go-to” collection of updated comfort foods for families that need to cook nutritionally sound and diabetic-friendly meals that will satisfy and soothe the souls of the member (or members) of the family with diabetesand do the same for the rest of the family. No need to cook two meals to please everyone in the household. Now everyone can enjoy the same hearty and nutritious meals. This book will ease the stress of planning meals by offering easy and flavorful recipes and a menu planning guide that allows for mix and match meals that will keep everyone in the family happy, healthy, and satisfied. Filled with gorgeous original photography and a beautiful four-color design, this cookbook will look as good as it's meals. Sprinkled with helpful tips and time-saving advice,The American Diabetes Association Comfort Food Cookbookwill not only make classic comfort foods healthier and diabetes friendly, it will make them a snap to prepare as well.
Call Number: Health and Wellness Library General Collection RC662 .G362 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Looking for a way to organize all your meals for a week? With The Budget-Conscious Diabetes Meal Planner, weeknight meals will be quick and easy. It is a plan for one-stop shopping with recipes for the week to create great dinners your whole family will love.Using this book, you can shop and organize the food over the weekend so that assembling the ingredients and just a little cooking will get a meal on the table in minutes throughout the week and more robust ingredients later in the week. They will also include money saving tips. Sections include: How to buy with a shopping list for each week. It will list foods by market department. Supermarkets are so big today that remembering something from the produce department when you're in the meat section is time consuming and annoying. The book will include a list of staple foods to keep in your pantry. This will make shopping times shorter and allow to use the freshest ingredients. There will be a chapter on How to store your items, once you get them home. Tips will be given on what to freeze and what to keep in the refrigerator for the week. Next, there will be a detailed section on how to prepare your meals. Complete recipes with nutritional analysis will be given for each day of the week. And finally, the book will list complete recipes, shopping lists, helpful hints and meal countdowns for each weekday, and Sunday meals for a month, plus, the projected costs of each meal.
Google Books provides full-text access to many books in the public domain or out of copyright, and partial access to others.