Call Number: Community Health Education RC 862 .I77 C85 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
Written by a Crohn's disease patient, Dede Cummings. She has written this book to offer those who have digestive disease recipes that are created to help aid digestion, reduce flare-ups and improve gastrointestinal health.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC806 .N68 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Millions of Americans have complaints about, or disorders of, the esophagus, stomach, intestines, liver, gallbladder, or pancreas, all of which comprise the gastrointestinal (GI) tract. This book provides accurate, reliable, and up-to-date information on the most common GI disorders. Written by a gastroenterologist with decades of clinical and research experience, A Gastroenterologist's Guide to Gut Health provides the advice that Dr. Novick gives to patients in his practice every day, written in a clear, conversational, and easily understandable style. Advocating strongly for colon cancer screening and prevention, he walks readers through the process of colonoscopy, demystifying the procedure so patients know exactly what to expect. A review of alternatives to colonoscopy are also included. In addition to colonoscopy and colon cancer, Dr. Novick reviews irritable bowel syndrome, inflammatory bowel disease (Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis), celiac disease, acid reflux, hepatitis C, hemorrhoids, and many other GI diseases. He provides clear and specific details on best nutrition practices and explains how to get the most out of your visit to the doctor. Anyone with questions about digestive health, prevention, and screening will find here a ready and accessible resource for staying healthy and feeling good.
Filled with practical tips and support to help you deal with the stress and lifestyle changes that come with living with IBS each day, IBS: 365 Tips for Living Well will show you how to: Find ways to treat your IBS effectively and avoid flare-ups, including prescription and over-the-counter medications, and complementary and alternative therapies Relieve stomach pain, gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation Know which foods and beverages to eat and drink--and which ones to avoid
Call Number: Community Health Education RC 862 .C63 F37 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-02
Whether you're a newly diagnosed patient or a loved one of someone with ulcerative colitis, this book offers help. Questions & Answers About Ulcerative Colitis, Second Edition provides authoritative, practical answers to the most common questions asked by patients and their loved ones. This easy-to-read book is a comprehensive guide to treatment options, post-treatment quality of life, sources of support, employment and insurance issues, and much more. Written by a world-class medical expert on the topic, Questions & Answers About Ulcerative Colitis is an invaluable resource for anyone coping with the physical and emotional turmoil of ulcerative colitis.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RC806 .W37 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Take charge of your gut health now with the low-FODMAP diet. Are you a teen dealing with stomach problems? If so, you're not alone! Fourteen percent of high school students have symptoms of IBS--such as pain, bloating, and frequent trips to the bathroom. Plus, poor gut health can mean missed school days and trips, awkward explanations, extra doctor's visits, and major cafeteria confusion. Here's the good news: In A Teen's Guide to Gut Health, registered dietitian Rachel Meltzer Warren explains how you can find relief--on a low-FODMAP diet.
Call Number: Community Health Education Ctr General Collection RJ456.G3 Y68 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-03
Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) is a common condition in children and adolescents. Parents and other family members typically have many questions about the diagnosis, symptoms, and treatments associated with various forms of IBD including Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis, and indeterminate colitis. In this book, medical experts explain all you need to know about IBD and answer important questions, including: * What are inflammatory bowel diseases, Crohn's disease, and ulcerative colitis? * Is there a cure for IBD? * How is IBD going to affect my child's daily life? * Will my child's diet change? * Can my child still play sports? * Will my child need surgery? * What are the side effects of commonly prescribed medications? * What challenges may my child face at school and socially, especially as he or she grows older? This new edition has been thoroughly revised with updated scientific evidence. The chapters on medical therapies have been expanded to include robust discussions of emerging biologic medications and forms of nutrition used for treating IBD. A new chapter on complementary and alternative therapies expands on this topic.
Google Books provides full-text access to many books in the public domain or out of copyright, and partial access to others.