Chemical and Life Sciences Engineering

Tool for locating research articles and conference presentations in all areas of engineering, includes Includes Compendex, INSPEC, and NTIS databases. Use Get it @ VCU to access entire articles.

Aside from being useful for locating research articles in all areas of chemistry, it has property and reaction information for molecules and allows you to search by structure.

Citation databases that can be searched by topic and that has connections between sources, including journal articles and conference papers, that cite each other. It includes searches by cited reference as well as regular searches by keywords, title, and author.

Academic Search Complete has information about both popular and scholarly articles on a variety of topics and includes full text for many of them. It's a good place to get a few articles on a topic, especially if you are just getting started.

Citations to articles in trade publications, technical and professional society journals, and specialized subject periodicals covering a wide variety of applied science fields, including civil engineering, aeronautics, computers, and informatics.

Search multiple engineering databases on the ProQuest platform.

Open web resource that allows users to search for journal articles, citations, theses, preprints, and book availability on the web.

Databases covering the sciences, health sciences, arts, business, and social sciences. They can be searched all at once, in subject groups or one at a time.

PubMed is the primary database for locating research articles in medicine, health and biology. Although using PubMed to discover articles is free, go through VCU Libraries and use Get It @ VCU to access the full text of subscription (non-free) articles.

Aside from its use to locate properties and to locate research articles, Reaxys especially useful for synthetic chemistry and can be used to build multi-step syntheses and to compare expected yields from alternative syntheses.

Portal to full-text journal articles and books in the published by Elsevier.

Collection of Science, Technology and Medicine journals, book series, books and reference works, mostly published by Springer.