Research Guides: GSWS 491: Gender, Sexuality and HIV in African Literature: Home

Home

Humanities Research Librarian

Contact:

jglover2@vcu.edu
(804) 828-6555
Cabell Library, Room 121F

Want to meet to talk about your research, teaching, or projects? Please get in touch.

Related Guides

Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies
by John Glover Last Updated Dec 15, 2020 9 views this year
Literary Criticism
by John Glover Last Updated Jan 23, 2020 14 views this year
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Questioning (LGBTQ)
by John Glover Last Updated Jul 1, 2020 59 views this year

Welcome!

Welcome to the course guide for GSWS 491: Gender, Sexuality and HIV in African Literature. You'll find resources to help you locate material for your study of the topic, including resources that we covered during our library instruction section.

Search Tips

Use quotation marks to search words as a phrase.
- "phaswane mpe"
- "african patients"
Use the asterisk to find related words.
- decolon* = decolonize, decolonizing, or decolonization

Articles

These resources can help you find articles related to your course topic. Some will focus more on medicine and HIV, some on public policy, some on literature.

JSTOR
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. (Backfiles end 3 - 5 years prior to current date).
MLA International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association of America's index of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Citations only.
PubMed
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies and feminist research supporting curriculum development in sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
PAIS Index
Abstracts from the international literature on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, 1915-present. (ProQuest)
Google Scholar
Scholarly literature crawled by Google.

News and Background

Newspaper Map
Clickable map of the world, with newspapers from many countries, in many languages.

Access World News
Full text for newspapers, newswires, blogs, transcripts, and more. Sources include not only major national and international newspapers, but also local and regional sources.
New York Times
More than a newspaper for an American city, the New York Times is an international record of national and world news, as well as personal stories of how events affect individuals. 1851-3 year moving wall. (ProQuest)
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text for more than 130 national and international newspapers, including New York Times, Washington Post, Times (London). Selective full text for over 335 US newspapers. In addition, full-text radio and television news transcripts are provided. (EBSCO)
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, native and minority press. (ProQuest)
Aluka
An international initiative to build an online library of full-text scholarly resources from and about Africa, Aluka includes archival documents, books, ecological data, periodicals, reports, maps, and oral histories.