Research Guides: Music Education: Home

Welcome!

This guide provides an overview of resources and basic strategies for Music Education.

Try these related guides for further info:

Music Education Search Tips

You can find music education sources within The VCU Libraries Search box using such Subject terms as:

Music -- Instruction and Study
School music -- Instruction and study
[Instrument or group] -- Instruction and Study e.g.
- Guitar -- Instruction and Study
- Stringed Instruments -- Instruction and Study
[Instrument] -- Methods
Other useful terms:
- Juvenile, Adult
- Primary or Elementary
- Middle School
- Secondary or High School
- Studies, Educational Practices or Strategies
- Exercises, Games or Activities
- Testing
- Training
- Performing Arts

Your Librarian

Carla-Mae Crookendale

(she/her)

Contact:

cmcrookendale@vcu.edu
(804) 827-0367
Cabell Library, Room 121-L

Subjects: Arts, Performing, Arts, Visual

Ask Us

Browsing Music Education

Use these call numbers to browse for books at the Cabell Library:

MT -- Music, Instruction and study
BF -- Psychology
L -- Education
ML -- Music literature, history, and theory

Music Education Books

Dictionary of Music Education
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
Includes entries on key individuals, critical terms, important events, and notable organizations, offering readers a broad survey of the field of music education.
Alternative Approaches in Music Education
Call Number: ebook
Explore the creative ways music educators across the country are approaching emerging practices in music teaching and learning.
Menc Handbook of Research on Music Learning
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
This Handbook summarizes the latest research on music learning. Chapters are written by expert researchers in music teaching and learning, creating research summaries that will be useful for practitioners as well as beginning and advanced researchers.
Teaching Music to Students with Special Needs
Call Number: MT17 .H36 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Research-based curricular strategies that are grounded in both best practice and current special education law. Chapters address the full range of topics and issues music educators face, including parental involvement, student anxiety, field trips and performances, and assessment strategies.
Crowd Control: Crowd management and effective teaching for chorus, band, and orhcestra
Call Number: MT1.H38 2013
Pop-Culture Pedagogy in the Music Classroom
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2010
Provides a variety of ideas and techniques for teaching music classes using elements of popular culture, such as popular songs and genres, mixes and remixes, video games, music videos, television shows, and internet resources.
New Art and Science of Teaching Art and Music
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019
This research-based book for art and music teachers outlines music- and arts-based teaching strategies.
Sociology for Music Teachers
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Demonstrates the relationship of music to education, schooling and society, and examines the consequences for making instructional choices in teaching methods and repertoire selection.

Music Collection Suggestions

Suggest materials to add to VCU Libraries Music Collections

Purchase Suggestion Form
Suggest something to VCU Libraries to add to the library collection by filling out a form. The suggestion will be reviewed by a librarian for possible addition to VCU Libraries
Contact Kevin Farley, Humanities Collection Librarian
Contact the humanities collections librarian, Kevin Farley, directly at kdfarley@vcu.edu or (804) 828-8772 to discuss adding to the VCU Libraries collection.

Resources Beyond VCU Libraries

If you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.

Inter-library Loan (ILL)
Via Interlibrary Loan, you can borrow books, articles, and DVDs that VCU does not own.
WorldCat (via FirstSearch)
Consolidated catalog of items held by libraries worldwide.

more... less...

VCU access only
RALC
The Richmond Academic Library Consortium is a group of Richmond area libraries which have agreed to extend limited borrowing privileges to students, faculty, and staff of any RALC school.

Music Education