RT Nursing
R1 Medicine (general)
R111.M489 MCV campus theses/dissertations
RA Public aspects of medicine
RB Pathology
RC1 Internal Medicine (general). Examination/diagnosis. Emergency med.
RC91 Diseases caused by physical/chemical agents
RC254 Oncology. Tuberculosis
RC321 Neuropsychiatry
RC581 Diseases of individual systems, regions of the body
RC952 Other specialties (e.g.,geriatrics, tropical, sports medicine)
RD Surgery
RE Ophthalmology
RF Otorhinolaryngology
RG Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ Pediatrics
RK Dentistry
RL Dermatology
RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS Pharmacy and materia medica
RT Nursing
RV Homeopathy, Osteopathy, and other systems of medicine
Use the VCU Libraries Search for print, electronic books, and other resources.
Lippincott Visual Nursing by
For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
Fundamentals of Nursing by
NOTE: Replace this text with the Full Description. Do not forget to check the Release to Eloquence box in the upper right hand corner. Proven, approachable, and part of a complete nursing fundamentals solution, Fundamentals of Nursing: The Art and Science of Patient-Centered Care, 9th Edition, instills an exceptional foundation for clinical confidence and effective patient-centered care. This bestselling fundamentals solution is easy to read and rich with student-friendly features that help students develop the knowledge and clinical skills to succeed in their nursing education. Trusted content not only details the basics of nursing--health promotion, the use of scientific rationales, and the approved nursing process--but also builds essential patient safety, communication, and critical thinking capabilities. This edition adds new features that encourage reflection, highlight QSEN-related content, and familiarize students with emerging technology they will likely encounter in practice. A new informatics chapter prepares students for their important role working with emerging health information technology and managing patient data. Case-based clinical scenarios put chapter concepts in a realistic context, and content throughout integrates seamlessly with a suite of teaching and learning tools to bring the entire nursing continuum to life and equip students to excel throughout their nursing careers. Features New! Reflective Practice Leading to Personal Learning callouts cultivate a person-centered approach to nursing care. New! Clinical vignettes personalize the clinical application of concepts and integrate with vSim for Nursing for patient-specific reinforcement of commonly encountered scenarios and conditions. New! Technology Alerts familiarize students with emerging devices and software they'll likely encounter in the clinical setting. New! Informatics chapter reflects the increasingly important role of data and information technology in patient care. New! QSEN boxes in every chapter help students ensure compliance with Quality and Safety Education for Nurses competencies. New! Watch & Learn Videos clarify key concepts and procedures in engaging detail. NEW! Legal Alert feature is designed to highlight important laws that students need to understand. Revised! Illustrated Concept Maps engage visual learners, simplify complex topics, and strengthen students' clinical reasoning skills. Case scenarios in each chapter encourage holistic patient care and reflection on critical thinking questions. PICO (patient/problem, intervention, comparison, outcome) displays guide students through a structured, evidence-based approach to answering clinical questions. Concept Mastery Alerts improve students' understanding of potentially confusing topics. Apply Your Critical Thinking features challenge students to think deeply on key concepts. Patient Care Plans and Skills sections outline streamline students' transition from the classroom to clinical practice. NCLEX-style Review Questions ready students for the NCLEX exam experience.
Essentials of Nursing Research by
Give your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice. Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence. Highlights of the Ninth Edition Enhanced accessibility. The presentation of complex topics is simplified and streamlined, incorporating more straightforward language. New content. The book's coverage of state-of-the-art research concepts and approaches includes new discussions of quality improvement projects as well as clinical significance, a seldom-mentioned but important topic that has recently gained prominence among nurse researchers. Reorganized coverage. The book's new structure is organized by methodologic content to offer greater continuity and facilitate better understanding of key methodologic differences between quantitative and qualitative research. Critiquing guidelines and support. Each chapter provides questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that can be critiqued by research consumers. In addition, full-length research articles and sample critiques at the end of the book provide opportunities for further critiquing practice. Research examples. One or two actual research examples at the end of each chapter sharpen readers' critical thinking skills, and research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate students' thinking about areas of research inquiry. Practical guidance . Translation of the abstract notions of research methods into more concrete applications includes tips that explain confusing issues in actual research articles. New test generator . Hundreds of multiple-choice questions, which are completely new and written by the book's authors, help instructors assess their students' understanding of the chapter content.
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Contemporary Nursing by
Ensure you are thoroughly prepared to work in the rapidly evolving world of nursing. Written by expert authors Barbara Cherry and Susan Jacob Contemporary Nursing: Issues, Trends, & Management, 8th Edition provides an overview of both issues within nursing practice and topics facing today's nurse managers and leaders. The 20th anniversary edition of this comprehensive guide emphasizes the importance of working in an interdisciplinary environment and takes you through the evolution of nursing, safe and effective decision-making, the nursing role, collaboration and communication, leadership, and job opportunities. New to this edition is coverage of health issues affecting the LGBTQ community, hospice care, how to respond to active shooter events, and a number of other timely issues affecting healthcare and nursing practice today. UPDATED Content on incivility, bullying and workplace violence, provides a short scenario about issues you might face in practice. Key terms, learning outcomes, chapter overviews, and chapter summaries help you focus your learning experience.? Unit on Leadership and Management in Nursing?includes content to prepare nurses to effectively function in the management roles expected of the professional nurse. Unit on Career Management?provides strategies on how to make the transition from student to practitioner and tips on how to pass the NCLEX-RN Examination. Case studies help you apply theory to clinical practice. Vignettes at the beginning of each chapter personalize nursing history and practice and help you to understand your place in the profession.?Questions to Consider While Reading This Chapter follow the vignettes and prepare?the reader for the topic to be discussed. Humorous cartoons open each chapter to illustrate the chapter themes. Full-color design enhances the narrative with a clear, visually appealing explanation of concepts. NEW! Coverage of the Nursys' program allows nurses, employers, and boards of nursing to verify that nursing licenses are current and in good standing. NEW! Coverage of LGBTQ Health Issues and other marginalized groups discusses how to improve the care of a diverse population. NEW! Integration of advanced technology into all aspects of clinical care and job placement focuses on the ever-changing role of technology in the workplace. NEW! Expanded coverage of working in an interdisciplinary team reflects the changing healthcare landscape and need to work in collaboration with a variety of healthcare specialists. NEW! Coverage of how to respond to active shooter events prepares you for what you might face during a mass casualty event. NEW! Coverage of current legal cases includes relevant examples of legal issues affecting nurses. NEW! Evolution of the nation's healthcare system based on healthcare reform covers alternative models of healthcare reimbursement to promote quality and cost effectiveness along with?new opportunities for nursing practice. NEW! Chapter on hospice care focuses on how to best provide patients with relief during end of life care, and how to support family members. NEW! The enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) keeps you up to date on the latest on multi-state licensing. NEW! Updated coverage reflects the most current data and references in the market.
Nursing Health Assessment by
Develop the assessment knowledge and skills to excel in any clinical setting. Updated to reflect today's changing healthcare environment, this unique, modern approach to health assessment guides you progressively through realistic clinical case scenarios, emphasizing health promotion, risk factor reduction, evidence-based thinking, and diagnostic reasoning. Effective strategies help you adapt questions and techniques to confidently manage communication challenges, unexpected patient responses, changes in a patient's condition over time, and more. Highlights of the Third Edition Progressive Case Studies in each chapter help you capably apply concepts to clinical practice through: Therapeutic Dialogue displays that hone the communication and critical thinking skills essential for gathering assessment data. Progress Note sections that provide sample SOAP (Subjective data, Objective data, Analysis, and Plan) notes documenting summaries of findings, with accompanying critical thinking questions. Documenting Case Study Findings boxes that summarize abnormal findings in the physical examination (determined through inspection, palpation, percussion, and auscultation). Collaborating With the Interprofessional Team displays that feature SBAR (Situation, Background, Analysis or Assessment, and Recommendations) frameworks for effectively coordinating referrals or other patient advocacy needs. Clinical Reasoning in Action sections that demonstrate how to bring all the elements of assessment together to determine a nursing diagnosis and related goals, interventions, rationales, and evaluation criteria. NEW! Unfolding case-based vignettes written by the National League for Nursing place concepts in a realistic context and encourage classroom discussion. NEW! Concept Mastery Alerts clarify potentially confusing topics. More than 70 NANDA-I Diagnoses with official definitions and defining characteristics Learning Objectives focus on critical information and can help you study more effectively. Clinical Significance boxes emphasize content critically related to clinical application. Safety Alert boxes highlight areas of concern or results that require immediate intervention or adjustments. Key Points summarized at the end of each chapter reinforce the most important content at a glance. Review Questions help you identify content requiring additional review. Tables of Abnormal Findings facilitate fast, effective assessments. Accompanying interactive learning resources such as videos and animations, referenced with icons in the text, appeal to a variety of learning styles.
Caring in nursing classics : an essential resource by The VCU Health System has adopted the Johns Hopkins Model for evidence-based practice. There are electronic versions of the two key texts covering this model
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by 
Johns Hopkins nursing evidence-based practice: implementation and translation by 
Johns Hopkins nursing evidence-based practice model and guidelines by 
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare : a Guide to Best Practice by
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 4th Edition Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN and Ellen Fineout-Overholt, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare by
Hospitals and healthcare systems around the world have attempted to build and sustain evidence-based practice (EBP) cultures and environments, yet they have struggled to clearly understand what EBP competency means. Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare clears up that confusion and serves as a guide for clinicians, leaders, faculty, EBP mentors, and students in achieving EBP competency, facilitating evidence- based decision making in daily practice, and accelerating the speed at which research knowledge is translated into real-world settings to improve health outcomes and decrease healthcare costs. Authors Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, Lynn Gallagher-Ford, and Ellen Fineout-Overholt provide step-by-step explanations and case scenarios that illustrate realistic advice and ready-to-use resources to help organizations integrate EBP broadly and deeply across their infrastructure to improve patient care quality and safety.
Evidence-Based Nursing by
Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Fourth Edition introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice. The text helps students understand research methods, how to appraise and use research evidence in clinical decision-making, and how to fully understand and engage in evidence-based practice. By linking evidence-based practice to recent research in safety and quality programs, it provides timely information in both healthcare and nursing settings.
Nursing Research by
Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses by
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fourth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The authors employ a fresh and updated approach to teaching nursing research using evidence-based practice. The Fourth Edition features more real-world examples, expanded coverage of qualitative methods, discussion of various types of research questions and explores the hierarchy of evidence. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated Apply What You Have Learned evolving case study Real-life evidence-based practice examples Exploration of the Hierarchy Model featuring all types of evidence for each level Expanded content on the qualitative method Updated references and new diagrams summarizing statistical analysis and designs Navigate 2 Premier Access Instructor Resources Instructor's Manual Time-on-task analysis Interactive lectures Competency mapping document PowerPoint slides Test bank Practice activities Evolving case study
Nursing Health Assessment by
Quick, easy-to-reference resource Consistent organization in every body system chapter that addresses... Primary function of every system Developmental and cultural considerations Key history questions with specific symptoms Integration with other systems The physical assessment, which includes anatomical landmarks - approach - position for exam - tools needed for exam - assessment procedure - and normal and abnormal findings Helpful hints and alerts that are identified by special icons Subjective and objective data schematics for each system Drug tables for each system
Nursing Diagnosis Manual by
Assessment tools to help you select the appropriate diagnosis Alphabetized monographs for hundreds of diseases and disorders reflecting all specialty areas Associated nursing diagnoses that are presented by priority and written as client problem/need statements NIC and NOC linkages with each diagnosis Unique presentation of action/invention by priority with rationales...with icons for cultural * collaborative * diagnostic studies * medications * community/home health * pediatric/geriatric/lifespan Documentation section that emphasizes the importance of what and why Taxonomy information that defines the domain in which the nursing diagnosis belongs, along with the date the nursing diagnosis was approved or revised Pediatric considerations in the monographs, where appropriate References to support evidenced-based practice
Guide to Diagnostic Tests by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine by
Since 1927, Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the world's most influential internal medicine resource. In the ground-breaking 25th edition, your original purchase ensures you will be up-to-date without the need for a subscription. Through the new, more powerful Expert Consult eBook platform, this "living text" provides continuous updates that will integrate the latest research, guidelines, and treatments into each chapter, ensuring that the content is as current as the day this edition was first published. Goldman-Cecil Medicine offers definitive, unbiased guidance on the evaluation and management of every medical condition, presented by a veritable "Who's Who" of modern medicine. A practical, straightforward sty≤ templated organization; evidence-based references; and robust interactive content combine to make this dynamic resource quite simply the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, state-of-the-art clinical answers you need. "The content is superb, authoritative and not surprisingly very up to date." Reviewed by: Dr Harry Brown, on behalf of Glycosmedia Date: July 2015 Expert Consult eBook version included with print purchase: Access continuous updates from Editor Lee Goldman, MD, who thoroughly reviews internal medicine and specialty journals, updating online content to reflect the latest guidelines and translating that evidence into treatment. Interactive Q&A section features over 1,500 board-style questions and answers to aid in preparing for certification or recertification exams. Outstanding supplementary tools include figures, tables, videos, heart and lung sounds, treatment and management algorithms, fully integrated references, and thousands of illustrations and full-color photos. Search all of the text, figures, supplementary material, and references from the book on a variety of devices and at no additional cost - Expert Consult access is included with this title! Practical, bulleted, highly templated text with easy-to-use features including flow charts and treatment boxes. New chapters on global health, cancer biology and genetics, and the human microbiome in health and disease keep you on the cutting edge of medicine. Today's most current evidence-based medicine guidelines help you form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible. Focused coverage of the latest developments in biology includes the specifics of current diagnosis, therapy, and medication doses. The reference of choice for every stage of your career! Goldman-Cecil Medicine is an ideal learning tool for residents, physicians, and students as well as a valuable go-to resource for experienced healthcare professionals. Cecil - the best internal medicine resource available since 1927 - far exceeds the competition in versatility, ease-of-use and up-to-datedness.
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 19th Edition by
Essential Clinical Information Drawn FromHarrison''s Harrison''s Manual of Medicine is a concise, bedside resource derived from content found in Harrison''s Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition. Perfect for use at the point of care, the Manual presents clinical information covering key aspects of the diagnosis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of the major diseases that are likely to be encountered in medical practice. Presented in full color and incorporating an efficient blend of succinct text, bullet points, algorithms, and tablesHarrison''s Manual of Medicine, Nineteenth Edition covers every area of clinical medicine, including: · Etiology and Epidemiology · Clinically Relevant Pathophysiology · Signs and Symptoms · Differential Diagnosis · Physical and Laboratory Findings · Therapeutics · Practice Guidelines
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2019 by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Know what the experts know and incorporate it into your daily practice with the #1 annual guide to internal medicine INCLUDES 7 ONLINE-ONLY CHAPTERS AT NO ADDITIONAL COST! Visit: www.AccessMedicine.com/CMDT A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Written by clinicians renowned in their respective fields, CMDT offers the most current insight into epidemiology, symptoms, signs, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. For each topic, you'll find concise, evidence-based answers to questions about hospital and ambulatory medicine. This streamlined clinical companion is the fastest and easiest way to keep abreast of the latest diagnostic advances, prevention strategies, and cost-effective treatments. Features and content critical to clinical practice: * Strong emphasis on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management in all fields of internal medicine * Full review of all internal medicine and primary care topics, including gynecology and obstetrics, dermatology, neurology, ophthalmology, geriatrics, and palliative care * Update of newly emerging infections and their treatments * Specific disease prevention information * Hundreds of medication tables, with indexed trade names and updated prices - plus helpful diagnostic and treatment algorithms * Recent references with PMID numbers * Full-color photographs and illustrations (many new to this edition) HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: * Revised section on pain management at the end of life * Updated ACC/AHA guidelines for treatment of valvular disease * New ACC/AHA and Hypertension Canada blood pressure guidelines * New FDA approved medications for treatment of breast cancer * New colon cancer screening recommendations from the U.S. Multi-Society Task Force * Acclaimed annual update of HIV/AIDS * New classification of epilepsy * Revised recommendations for treating hepatitis C virus-associated kidney disease * Revised chapter on psychiatric disordersNew FDA approved medication for gastric adenocarcinoma * Updated information about treating spinal muscular atrophy
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
Back by popular demand: the world's most widely-used medical reference, now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and expanded with a larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content, including 36 new chapters with more than 200 tables and 100 figures. Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this comprehensive guide was written by a team of renowned medical experts. It is intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients. The new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy makes it easy to find the right information at the moment it's needed, with the help of section thumb tabs. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. New larger trim 7 3/4 x 9 1/4 to accommodate 40% new content 36 completely new chapters Revised and expanded chapters in Cardiovascular, Genitourinary, Gynecologic, Neurologic, Pregnancy, and Infants and Children Pediatrics and trauma section significantly revised and expanded Key Points summarize the facts at-a-glance New Pearls & Pitfalls highlight noteworthy medical info and areas of caution 16-page full-color insert aids visual recognition of skin, eye, and oral disorders
Merck Manual Professional Edition by
irst published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
Chat