VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Library Resources as Course Materials

Available FREE or on Modified Terms during COVID-19

Content Delivery Platforms

VCU Libraries is happy to provide Proquest's Congressional Collection through June 30th, 2020 to help you access digital versions of US Government Documents in our physical collections. Materials include documents from Congressional Basic with Historic Indexes (1789-present), U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (1789-present), Congressional Hearings Digital Collection (1824-present), and Congressional Research Digital Collection (1830-present).

 

EBSCO is partnering with publishers to offer free upgrades to unlimited user ebooks until June 30, 2020. *This means you won't have to evaluate for number of users as reviewed on the guidelines for using library ebooks as course materials for most EBSCO titles. EBSCO is also making non-ebook resources available; visit Information and Resources to Help During the COVID-19 Pandemic for more information.

 

The Internet Archive has launched the National Emergency Library, a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. It is freely accessible for the duration of the US response. Learn more from the announcement blog post, FAQ, or scheduled webinars.

 

Almost half of VCU Libraries’ print books are available through HathiTrust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service.  Log in to HathiTrust, select Virginia Commonwealth University as the partner institution, then log in with your ID. Download is limited to one page at a time. Like our print books, only one VCU member can check an item out at a time.

 

JSTOR is offering access to more than 35,000 available books, in addition to all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections. VCU Libraries has opted into this offering, which is available through December 31, 2020. A list of participating publishers is updated as additional publishers join. Access these titles through the JSTOR link in the VCU Libraries database list

 

Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). Additional participants will continually be added and update in the list of publishers offering free access to content. Individual publishers set the expiration for their free access, but many periods end on June 30, 2020.

Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results, by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books.  There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform.

 

Proquest is providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings from over 50 publishers for libraries affected by COVID-19 at no extra charge through mid-June. All licenses will be automatically converted to unlimited access for that period, including additional titles purchased through mid-June. *This means you won't have to evaluate for number of users as reviewed on the guidelines for using library ebooks as course materials.

 

Commercial Publishers

The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) through August 31, 2020. View the title list. Elsevier also participating in the VitalSource ebook access, and through ProQuest Ebook Central.

 

University Presses and Scholarly Societies

 

Cambridge Core is providing access to all 700 textbooks, published and currently available in HTML format through June 29, 2020. Browse a list of titles or download a list at their site.

 

 

Duke University Press is proving free online access to books listed until June 1, 2020, and journal articles until October 1.

 

 

The University of Michigan Press will lift access restrictions for all 1,150+ titles until the end of June 2020. Included in the Collection are over 200 titles used in student courses and almost 300 award-winners. Strengths include political science and public (including health) policy, performing arts, classical and medieval studies, American studies, and Area studies (especially East Asian, African, and German studies). The UMP EBC is fully accessible on Fulcrum, a leading community-developed, open source platform for digital scholarship that offers users the ability to read books with associated digital enhancements, such as: 3-D models, embedded audio, video, and databases; zoomable online images, and interactive media.

 

A number of GeoScienceWorld (GSW) publishers are providing free access to all of their ebooks through June 30, 2020. Participating publishers are American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Canadian Science Publishing, Clay Minerals Society, Geological Society of America, Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland, PSAAPG, SEPM, Society for Sedimentary Geology, Society of Economic Geologists, and the University of Wyoming. 

 

For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.

STEM Video Demonstrations

JoVE is offering free access to its educational video content through June 15, 2020. This commercial vendor collects user data along with user content, device, log, and usage information. It shares it with affiliates and may sell it under conditions outlined in their privacy policy. For more, see FAQs

  • JoVE Core – a video textbook that isolates and visually presents core concepts in Biology and Social Psychology to improve learning comprehension. 
  • JoVE Science Education – a collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations in eight STEM fields
  • Lab Manual – comprehensive, curriculum focused videos for introductory biology lab courses.

 

Live Performances

The Metropolitan Opera will stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the closure. The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen.

 All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The performance will also  be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps. Playbill’s full schedule of this week’s Met Opera streams can be found here.

 

Classical Communications Database of LiveStreams - links to concerts that are offered live on the internet.

 

 

WKAR Listing of Specific Upcoming Live Performances

Aclands Logo  VCU Libraries is happy to provide access through August 15, 2020 to Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy.

APA Style has free online style and grammar guidelines for the seventh edition for the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. The full manual (both 6th and 7th editions) is also available via VitalSource and Redshelf.

 

Free access to IEEE suite of 400 + eLearning courses through the end of June to help support students and faculty members teaching engineering and computer science. IEEE Courses are hosted on IEEE Xplore.

 

To help educators conduct distance learning, we’re providing schools and higher education institutions affected by the coronavirus with free access to Kahoot! Premium until they reopen.

 

Health Library  VCU Libraries is happy to provide access through August 1, 2020 to LWW's Premium Basic Sciences Collection - Health Library.

Macmillan Learning's #edtech tools - LaunchPad, Sapling, FlipIt, iClicker & Lab Sims - are free this semester until July 1 for impacted customers using our print books. Contact your rep for details.

 

 

Resources for both instructors and students can be accessed through its Ancillary Resource Center and for the balance of this term, OUP is suspending the requirement that you be an adopter of an OUP book to use those resources.

Most of these digital resources have a Quick Start Guide to walk you through a fast and easy setup, including a quick guide to help you load our testing and other assessment material into your local LMS. 

 

VCU Libraries is happy to provide free 90-day expanded access (starting April 7) to several SAGE resources: SAGE Video, SAGE Research Methods Video, and SAGE Knowledge. Users will be prompted to login using their VCU credentials.  For additional information about these services, please review the SAGE remote learning resources webpage.

 

Information for Medical Professionals

Research

Collections

Publishers and Journals

Preprints

Policy

News

Curricula and general crisis/pandemic resources

The information was taken from the following sources and emails from vendors. We will continue monitoring these and selectively including relevant links to other tabs on this guide.

University Information Policy Officers, © 2020,  Vendor Covid-19 Related Donations and Pro Bono Access

Berkeley Library's FMRT Lists: VideoLib, Videonews & VRT-List,  Special Streaming Offers during Covid19 Cheat Sheet

International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) and the Statewide California Electronic Library Consortium (SCELC)'s Information Service Providers List 

Library Journal's infoDOCKET