Research Guides: Patient Education: Patient Education Home

About This Patient Education Guide

The free resources collected here can be used for patient education or as a resource for consumer health education. The guide provides links to resources that are openly available without subscription. The information should be helpful in answering a wide range of health and medical questions which will facilitate medical decision making for patients and consumers.

Websites

CDC Education
CDC's education home page includes resources for kids, parents, teachers, and clinicians.
CDC Healthy Living
The CDC's page on healthy living topics includes related campaigns, data, and publications. Topics include exercise, diet and nutrition, sexual health, and much more
disAbilityNavigator - A VirginiaNavigator Website
disAbilityNavigator is a web resource created by and for people with disabilities and their families.
Designed to meet the wide range of concerns unique to the disability community, the website features thousands of programs and services as well as hundreds of educational articles.
The information focuses on issues such as health and wellness, housing, community resources, benefits and money management, legal and civil rights, transportation, and much more.
FamilyDoctor.org
This site contains information about diseases and conditions; prevention and wellness; pregnancy; and health information for kids, teens, and seniors.
Healthfinder.gov
A general health websites for consumers containing a information about diseases and conditions, nutrition, pregnancy, and parenting.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus (http://medlineplus.gov/) is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information. The site offers authoritative, up-to-date health information, without advertisements, and is available anytime, anywhere for free. A Spanish-language version, MedlinePlus en español (http://medlineplus.gov/spanish), is also available. A site for cell phones and other mobile devices is at http://m.medlineplus.gov.
MedlinePlus provides information on: Health Topics; Medical Encyclopedia; Interactive Health Tutorials; Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information; Current Health News; Dictionary; Multiple Languages; and Directories
MedlinePlus Connect
Linking Patient Portals and EHRs to Consumer Health Information
- MedlinePlus Connect is a free service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). This service allows health organizations and health IT providers to link patient portals and electronic health record (EHR) systems to MedlinePlus, an authoritative up-to-date health information resource for patients, families, and health care providers.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Contains links to resources for health educators on a variety of public health topics.
SeniorNavigator - A VirginiaNavigator Website
One-stop source for information and access to community programs and services for Virginia seniors and caregivers.
Provides articles and links to information on: Aging Well, Caregiving, Community, Health, Housing & Long-term Care, Legal & Financial, and Transportation
Virginia Health Information - From Numbers to Knowledge
Virginia Health Information's Mission:
- To create and disseminate health care information
- To promote informed decision making by Virginia consumers and purchasers, and
- To enhance the quality of health care delivery.
Virginia's Home For Cost, Quality, and Efficiency Healthcare Information on Health Insurance, Hospitals, Nursing Facilities & Other Long-Term Care, and Physicians

Books & Reports

PDQ Cancer Information Summaries by National Cancer Institute
The PDQ cancer information summaries are peer-reviewed, evidence-based summaries on topics including adult and pediatric cancer treatment, supportive and palliative care, screening, prevention, genetics, and complementary and alternative medicine. There are versions for patients and professionals. The summaries come from the National Cancer Institute's comprehensive cancer database, PDQ (Physician Data Query).
Smart Health Choices by Les Irwig, Judy Irwig, Lyndal Trevena, and Melissa Sweet
ISBN: 9781905140176
Publication Date: 2008
This book aims to help consumers and practitioners develop the skills to assess health advice – and hopefully to make decisions that will improve the quality of their care. For some people, making better-informed decisions could be life saving. We hope that it will be useful if you are struggling to come to terms with an illness or injury, and the best ways of managing it. Or you may simply want to lead a healthier life, and may be wondering how to make sense of the often conflicting flood of health information that deluges us every day, through the media, and from our friends and health practitioners.

Population Health & Primary Care Information

About This Patient Education Guide

Websites

Books & Reports