What's in this biological sciences research guide:
Tools to locate biology articles, mostly from scholarly journals
Shortcuts to life sciences encyclopedias and other biology reference books. Most of the books are online.
Links to reputable biology Websites available to anyone
Online sources to drill down through the taxonomy of plants, animals, and other organisms
- Conference Proceedings
Library-supplied online sources to locate and access conference papers
- Funding Opportunities
Links to organizations that fund biology research and links to tools for searching for grant opportunities across many organizations at once.
Contact me by email or phone. See my profile for details.
Other ways to get in touch
E-mail: Ask Us
More contact information
- BIOSIS Previews
The foremost reference database in the life sciences; provides abstracts of literature in biological and biomedical areas. Includes Biological Abstracts, Biological Abstracts/RRM, and BioResearch Index.
- Web of Science
Citation databases including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index for searches by cited reference, topic, and author.
- ProQuest Databases
Databases covering the sciences, health sciences, arts,
business, and social sciences.
- Academic Search Complete
General article database, good for getting started.
- General Science Full Text
Coverage of core journals in all areas of science. Easy to use, designed for the non-specialist. Full-text for selected periodicals.
- Zoological Record
The oldest database of animal biology and leading taxonomic reference. Abstracts and citations only. Some links to full-text.
Portal to electronic collection of journals published by Elsevier.
- Dissertations from VCU
Search all VCU dissertations/theses submitted to UMI. View 24-page previews; download full-text (PDF format) of those published after 1996.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (Proquest)
Full text for most dissertations from 1997 to the present. Includes full text for some earlier dissertations, along with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses citations from around the world.